Pre Goofy: Getting Back in Shape

Official goofy training was going to start on September 10.  It included a 6 mile run and an 8 mile run.  Given my current fitness level, this began to worry me.  Most of my “runs” lately have been 3 miles, and have consisted of more walking than running.  They haven’t been as frequent as they should be either.  Before this week, it had also been more than a month since I had been to yoga.

After reading other Goofy training plans online, and just generally getting more excited to start training, I decided to add 3 more “official” Goofy training weeks to the plan.  Official Goofy training now starts on August 20 and includes a 5 mile “long run” to help build endurance again.

I still feel like I need to do some pre-training to get back in shape before August 20.  I don’t want to injure myself when I start official training, and I feel like I’ve lost a lot of fitness in the past few months.  Work has gotten in the way, and the Houston heat has not helped.  But I decided it’s time to make working out a priority again.  I think I was off to a good start this week:

  • Tuesday: 1 hour flow yoga + 3 miles (1 mile run @ 9:55)
  • Thursday: 1 hour flow yoga + 5 miles (1 mile run @ 9:48 + 8 more minutes run)
  • Saturday: 1.5 hours hot yoga + 3 miles (1 mile run total)

It’s hard to get back into running, but maybe even more difficult to get back into yoga.  My wrists hurt in downward dog and I’ve lost some of my core strength.  I wasn’t flexible before, but I could tell I had made some progress in my yoga classes, and I feel like I’ve lost it now.

In class on Thursday, our yoga instructor told us that we carry our ego in our nose and chin.  She had us push our noses and chins into our mats, pushing on our egos.  It was a good reminder to me to not let my ego get in the way, as I’ve been getting frustrated in yoga class this week.  I just need to keep up with my practice, and the progress will come back.  My Saturday hot class was much better.  I managed to make it through the whole class without taking any breaks.

I’m hoping to keep up with my yoga practice while training for Goofy.  I experienced an injury when training for my first marathon last year, and I plan to do everything I can to nurture my knee this year.

Leave a Reply

