My Summer via Instagram

Goofy Challenge training officially starts in a little over two months.  Which means I need to be getting myself into better shape in the very near future!

Work and hot weather (and a number of other excuses) have gotten in the way, and I have not been so good about running or yoga lately.  But that will be changing soon.  I will be posting my Goofy training plan soon, and I hope to be stepping up my running so I will be in good shape going into that plan.

So what have I been up to, while not running?  It’s been a busy few months!  I also discovered Instagram this summer.  Why did it take me so long?  I’m a little obsessed now.

I celebrated my 27th birthday with friends at Bingo in the Heights.  We brought in El Tiempo fajitas and Crave Cupcakes.  It was so much fun!  Yes, my friends be-dazzled a dauber for me 🙂

We went to Seattle for the Seattle International Film Festival.  My brother-in-law had a film showing in the festival, so we went for the world premiere.  It was exciting to see his movie in a theater, and we got to fit in a lot of sight-seeing during our two days there.  I can’t wait to go back someday!

We stayed at the Marqueen Hotel, which was within walking distance of a number of tourist attractions, including the Space Needle and the EMP.

We then walked another mile to Pike Place Market.

I loved the street entertainers.  One even put a bird in Pat’s hand and made it play dead!

The next day we started out at the Seattle Underground Tour.  I took this tour with my family when I was much younger, and it was just as entertaining as I remembered.  Basically, early Seattle had some serious sewage problems… so when the city burned down in a fire, they decided to just start over again, and built on top of the old city.

When then boarded a ferry to Bainbridge Island.  The view of Seattle was beautiful from the water.

We ate a late brunch at Cafe Nola, at the recommendation of a friend.  I had a fried egg and avocado sandwich that was amazing, and the bloody mary wasn’t bad!

We then tasted wine at Eleven Winery.  We were very sad to learn that they do not ship or sell wine in Texas.  The wine was great, and the people at the winery were friendly.

On our way home from Seattle we had a great view of Mount Rainier from our plane.

A few weeks after Seattle, we flew to Topeka, Kansas for a family wedding.  I got to see my parents and one of my sisters.  It was a quick weekend trip, but it was great to catch up with family I haven’t seen in a very long time.

We celebrated our 3 year wedding anniversary on June 27 with dinner at Indika, an Indian restaurant in Houston that we’ve been wanting to try for a long time.  I really liked most of the food we tried.  My favorite was the cauliflower kofta, which came with a poppyseed topping.  The chocolate tart with a pistachio crust was a pretty close second.

So far, it’s been a great summer!

One response to “My Summer via Instagram

  1. Wow, 3 years already? Congrats! I still remember your wedding as one of the funnest (is that a word?!?) I’ve ever been too. Looking forward to hearing about your goofy training. 🙂

Leave a Reply

