Race #11: Heights Fun Run 5k

On June 2, 2012, Maggie and I ran the Heights Fun Run 5k.  We talked about it a few days before, but this is the first race I registered for the morning of the race.  It was a last minute decision, but I’m glad we ran it!

We got to the start line pretty early because we weren’t sure how long it would take to find parking and to register.  We had plenty of time.  The volunteers registering everyone were a little grumpy, and there was a mix-up with race numbers, but it didn’t take long at all.  We got our race packet, dropped our stuff back at the car, and got some free coffee while we waited for the race to start.

I haven’t been in great running shape this summer.  Work has gotten busy and I haven’t been training consistently.  I was running this race truly just for a fun run – we did not have a time goal in mind.  The only hope was to run the whole 5k without a walk break.  And we did!

It was a quiet, peaceful run, up and down Heights Blvd.  I was struggling a little bit during the last mile or so, but it was mind over matter to keep running.  When we only had about a tenth of a mile to go, I started to feel sick to my stomach.  I don’t know what it is in these short races, but I could tell I was about to start dry-heaving, so I told Maggie to go on, so I could slow my pace a little bit.  But I still ran the whole thing!

The splits:

  • Mile 1:  9:11
  • Mile 2:  9:31
  • Mile 3:  9:45
  • Mile 3.0 – 3.15:  8:56 pace
  • Total: 29:51(9:28 average pace)

The food after the race was great – fruit, bagels and egg tacos 🙂

I would definitely consider doing this run again next year.

Leave a Reply

