Orlando Day 2: Animal Kingdom

Even after our late night celebrations, we still managed to get up at a reasonable hour to make our way to Animal Kingdom.  This was the one park we considered skipping early in our vacation planning, and I am so glad that we decided to go.  Last time I went to Disney (1995), Animal Kingdom had not yet been built.

The park was beautiful.  You see birds and animals when you first walk in, and we saw an interesting tree character.

Much of the park centered around the Tree of Life.

Expedition Everest was on the top of our list, so we headed there to get our first Fastpass and to go for a ride.  It had been a really long time since I had been on a roller coaster, so I was a little nervous about this one.  I was also nervous for the giant yeti at the end.  Mount Everest was so majestic from a distance.

It was such a fun ride!  At one point, the track looks like it ends, and you get a great view over Disney.  Then the roller coaster is pulled backwards into the dark.  At the very end you go through a tunnel with the giant yeti.  Apparently, the yeti was broken while we were there, because we could barely see him!  There were strobe lights over him, and you could just make him out in the right light.  I read that they do this when the animatronic yeti is broken.  We rode Expedition Everest three times throughout the day, twice in the front row!

After our exciting roller coaster ride, we headed to Dinoland.

There we rode what I thought was the scariest ride of our entire trip – Dinosaur!

You ride on a jeep that goes back in time and meet lots of dinosaurs.  Including a giant t-rex!  You sit in front of the t-rex for a long time.  He even blows fire at you, and I had to look away – in fact, in the picture they snap of you, my head is in the process of turning away, and all you see is a blur of my hair!

After the scary ride, we went on a tame roller coaster, Primeval Whirl.  It’s a mini roller coaster where you’re in a circle car that spins around.  Almost made me sick!

Next we headed back to Asia for lunch at Yak and Yeti.  I had read that they had some of the best vegetarian food in the park, and I have to agree.  I was sold as soon as I saw I could substitute tofu in any item on their menu.  I had sweet n’ sour tofu.  Disney does tofu well!

After lunch we rode Kilimanjaro Safaris, a ride into the Harambe Wildlife Reserve.

It was like a zoo, but better.  We got really close to some of the animals, and many of them seemed to be pretty active.  It was fun to be driven through the beautiful reserve.

After our Safari, we took a train ride to the Affection Section, what they call their petting zoo.

They had goats, donkeys, llamas and pigs to pet.  Bueller the goat was my favorite!  He was very friendly and reminded me of my puppy back home.  He just jumped right up on a bench to be part of the action.

Next we headed to Festival of the Lion King for a show.  It was amazing!  I love all the music from the Lion King and the performers were just amazing.  My favorite was a woman who flew around on a thin string, like a bird.  Just amazing!  I wish my pictures from the show had turned out better.

The final stop for the night was It’s Tough to be a Bug!  I sat that one out, and I’m glad I did.  I don’t do well with bugs… especially not ones that tough you.  Fake or real.

After the park we headed to Jiko The Cooking Place for dinner.  It was really good!

I ordered the Taste of Africa, a sampler of four African dips.  To be honest, I wasn’t crazy about it.  Two of the dips were too spicy for me and I think one had cilantro, which I am not a fan of.  There was only one dip I really liked.  However, the wine and the soup were amazing.  The soup was one of the best things I ate all week – a puree of sweet potato, pineapple and red pepper.  I absolutely will need to try making this one at home!

I am SO glad we decided to spend a day at Animal Kingdom!  Next time I think I could even spend two days there.

2 responses to “Orlando Day 2: Animal Kingdom

  1. I remember being totally freaked out by the Bug ride too- I don’t like surprise/scary attractions, but I did love Animal kingdom too.

  2. Pingback: Orlando Day 4: Universal Studios | Racing to Thirty

Leave a Reply

