Back on Track

Two blog posts in one week?  Not sure if I’ll be able to keep up, but with less than 2 months to go until my very first marathon, I’ll document as much of the training as I can.

After my first half marathon, I didn’t do much running (or moving at all) the week after the race.  But tonight, just 2 days after finishing the half marathon, Maggie and I ran/walked 5 whole miles!

I felt pretty sore yesterday and today, but I’ve been trying to do plenty of stretching, and made sure to walk around a lot during the day.  During our run tonight, we kept to the run 6 minutes/walk 4 minutes intervals that I had done during the half.  I felt really sore in the beginning, but could feel my legs loosening up during the run.  However, now that the run is over, my legs feel completely beat.  Our splits:

  • Mile 1:  12:25
  • Mile 2:  11:45
  • Mile 3:  11:45
  • Mile 4:  13:20
  • Mile 5:  12:04
  • Total:  1:01:20 (12:16 average pace)

We’re planning for 4 miles tomorrow – and we might try 7 minute/3 minute intervals.  My knee held up pretty well for the 5 miles, only a minor ache.  And with that, I’m off to foam roll!

3 responses to “Back on Track

  1. So glad to see your back! Can’t wait to hear more about marathon training! 🙂

  2. Ugh, I meant YOU’RE back. sorry, pet peeve of mine… had to address it!

Leave a Reply

