Registered! And Marathon Training Week 2

It’s official!  Maggie and I are running the Walt Disney World Marathon in January 2012.  I am so excited – for my first marathon and a trip to Disney World!  I’m not sure which I’m more excited about 🙂

The reality that I’m running a marathon has not set in yet.  But I’m continuing with the training plan as scheduled, and hopefully I’ll be ready once it does sink in.

Tuesday – 3 mile tempo run

I was traveling again, so I did this one on the treadmill.  It was hard to get started, but it wasn’t so bad once I got into it.  After walking the first 0.10 miles, I ran the rest of it!  And then walked another half mile after I finished.

  • Mile 1:  12:11
  • Mile 2:  9:42
  • Mile 3:  10:44

I was excited about my pace for the fast mile.  I tend to run faster outside (when it’s cooler out), so I hope this is a good sign that I’m picking back up to where I left off.  Okay, not quite, but it feels like a good start.

Wednesday – 3.75 miles speedwork (quarter miles)

Speedwork isn’t so bad on the treadmill, but trying to run 7 quarter miles felt like a lot.  I tried to up the speed on a few of the quarter miles, working my way up to 6.7 mph on a few of them.

This week’s speedwork was a little better than last week’s.  I finished the 3.75 miles in about 42 minutes.  I walked a little more for an even 4 miles.

Saturday – Long Run

I missed my 3 mile easy run this week, but I’m not going to worry too much about that for now.  I think running 3 days per week will be good for the half marathon in November, but I think I’ll really need that 4th day as I build up mileage for the marathon.

Maggie and I ran our 5 miler at the park.  It was so nice to be running outside again!  Except… it rained the entire time.  Mostly just sprinkled, but we were soaking wet by the end of the run.  It was nice because the rain cleared out the park and it felt much cooler than it has in a long time.  But it was still incredibly humid.

We alternated running and walking, but I felt like we ran a lot more of this one.  Our splits:

  • Mile 1:  10:44
  • Mile 2:  12:52
  • Mile 3:  10:33
  • Mile 4:  11:53
  • Mile 5:  11:30
  • Total:  57:33 (11:30 average pace)

We’re so close to our goal of an 11:20 pace for the marathon – just need to speed up by 10 seconds, multiply the distance by 5x plus a little more, and we’ll be there.  That doesn’t sound so bad does it?  Ugh… so hard to imagine the distance of a marathon!

Next Week:

Next week doesn’t look so bad.  Just a slightly longer speedwork run and one more mile added to the long run.  Knowing that we’re able to walk quite a bit during the long runs has helped me to get through them mentally, but I’m hoping to build back up to running most of these distances.  I may just have to wait until better weather for that to happen though.

Any Disney planning tips?

Have you seen Harry Potter?  I watched Deathly Hollows part 1 last night to get ready for the final movie.  If I don’t see part 2 this weekend, it’s definitely on the agenda for next weekend!

 

 

 

 

 

9 responses to “Registered! And Marathon Training Week 2

  1. Your training looks great!

    My boyfriends sister works for Disney and keeps begging me to run one of the Disney half’s or full’s with her but I haven’t agreed to one… yet!

    I saw the HP7 part 2 on Friday and loved it. I am a huge fan and read all the books multiple times and watched all the movies in the week leading up to the last movie.

  2. That’s great news! Congrats!
    Do you run all your long runs in your marathon pace? You know that’s not good, don’t you? Better to run them slower than your marathon pace and get your speed through your speedwork and tempo runs. You can run a part of your long run in marathon pace if you like. That’s what I do.

    I love Harry Potter, can’t wait to see the last part although it makes me kind of sad that after that it’s all over. We have plans to see it on July 30th.

    • Thanks! It’s not my goal to run all long runs at marathon pace, but my pace is determined by a few factors right now. One being what I’m capable of at the given time 🙂 but I’m also trying to train for a half-marathon pace for my November race (9:55) and if my goal is to run the marathon at a certain pace, then ideally, I’d like to be able to finish my shorter “long” runs at a faster pace. And my real goal for the marathon is just to finish, but I like to have a time goal in mind so I push myself a bit during the training.

      I’m also sad that Harry Potter is about to be all over 😦

  3. I get it. Kind of the same as how I approach my training.

    My BF saw HP this weekend and she said it’s great although they apparently changed the final a bit but not in a irritating way.

  4. So exciting! That’s one of my goals is to run that marathon. It looks like so much fun!!

    Also, I love the idea of your blog! 30 races before 30 years old. Great idea!! 🙂

  5. Ill be in Disney in November. It is the wine and food festival I am exited!!

  6. The Walt Disney World Marathon will be fabulous- gonna be quite an epic event huh!! Congrats on going ahead and attacking it 🙂 🙂

    xoxo ❤

  7. Pingback: Race #5: San Antonio Rock n’ Roll Half Marathon | Racing to Thirty

Leave a Reply

