Back to Running… with a PR!

I can’t believe I’ve gone more than a week without a run.  I almost didn’t run tonight.  After work I ran a few errands.  I was planning on cooking when I got home, but the weather was so beautiful, I got the itch to run instead.  I realized it’s likely to be Sunday before I’ll get to run again (it’s going to be a busy week/end!), so I decided to take advantage of the opportunity tonight.

When I set off for my run I didn’t have any specific goals in mind.  After running a half marathon, and then not running at all for a week and two days, I decided to take it as I went and just see how I felt.  If I wanted to run 1 mile, that was fine, if I wanted to do more, that would be fine too.  At any pace.

My first mile went by quickly.  I knew I was running too fast, but I didn’t care because it felt good.  When my Garmin beeped at one mile it read 8:51, but I didn’t slow down.  I kept it up until about 1.5 miles.  At this point I was getting tired.  And then I got elbowed in the shoulder.  I was running on a narrow section of the running path and people were blocking the entire way.  I started to go around a tall guy, and someone coming in the opposite direction wasn’t looking and started to run into my path.  As a result, I got too close to the tall guy and got a sharp elbow in my shoulder.

My shoulder hurt and I was tired, so I started to walk.  I walked for about 30 seconds before I decided that I should at least be able to make it to 3 miles without walking.  So I picked up my pace, and the next thing I knew, my Garmin beeped the second mile – and it was faster than my first!

This is the point at which I decided I would try for a 5k PR.  My previous PR was 28:50, so it definitely seemed within my reach.  I slowed down a little bit during the third mile, but when I hit 2.5 miles, I realized that I would just have to hold a 10:00 pace to finish in 28:00.  So I went for it!

I started to feel a little sick to my stomach at 2.9 miles, but told myself to get over it – I just had to keep moving for two more minutes!  And I finished strong at 27:32.  A PR by more than a minute!  My splits:

  • Mile 1:  8:51
  • Mile 2:  850
  • Mile 3:  9:01
  • Mile 3.1:  (8:31 pace)
  • Total:  27:32  (8:53 average pace)

I thought I would be rusty after going so long without a run, but it was like I had saved up my energy over the past week just for this run.  It also helped that I had an awesome playlist on my iPod.  I didn’t add any new music, but the random songs that played kept me moving.  I ran more to the music than to the pace on my Garmin.

In other news, my betta fish finally has a name:  Tofu.  And the Namaste cookies were a hit at work 🙂

9 responses to “Back to Running… with a PR!

  1. Wow! I’m impressed. I ran a mile today at the super fast speed of 11:00. But then again…I’ve often compared myself to the Pokey Little Puppy. I’ve often found that when I take extended time off…I do my best after the rest. What’s up with me rhyming today?

    • Lol, I think I do best after rest too 🙂 It’s taken me a long time to speed up… I was running 12:00 min miles when I started running outside (and slower on the treadmill), and I still usually run in the 10:00’s… not sure what got into me today!

  2. DANG GIRL!! CONGRATS!!

    What are some of the songs on your playlist? I need some new ones for my half!

    I added you to my blogroll. I thought you were already there!

    • Thanks!! My playlist includes a LOT of Lady Gaga, but these are some of my other favorites at the moment:

      “Girl Anachronism” Dresden Dolls
      “Paper Planes” MIA
      “Magnetic Baby” Semi Precious Weapons
      “Sticky with Champagne” Semi Precious Weapons
      “Imma Be” Black Eyed Peas
      “Like a G6” Far East Movement

  3. Jessica, to answer the question you left in the comments on my blog, I got a Cannon XS DSLR. I bought a package deal through Sam’s Club and got a memory card, two lenses, and a camera bag for $600. I really wanted the Ti1 but for the money I saved, I figured I could spring for a good macro lens for food photography. I know next to nothing about photography so I’m feeling a little scared!! We’ll have to share tips!

  4. Awesome job! I’m really impressed that you not only knocked so much time off your PR, but you did it in a non-race setting! I can never motivate myself to run fast when I’m not racing, so I really admire you 🙂

  5. What a great “comeback” at running! Congrats on your PR!

    Wow, where you are running it’s really crowded then. I sometimes don’t even see people on my long runs, means running for 2 hours and not see anyone. But I love it, I don’t like crowded.

Leave a Reply

