Food, Fish & Photography

I’ve been thinking about buying a new camera for a few months now.  Ever since I played with Pat’s brother’s DSLR over Christmas break, it’s been on my mind.  I replaced my point and shoot camera about a year and a half ago, but photography is something I’ve always been interested in, and with DSLRs dropping in price, I thought it might be time to invest.  Since Christmas, I’ve done quite a bit of thinking, quite a bit of research, and a little bit of saving up for my DSLR 🙂

I settled on the Canon EOS Rebel T2i.  The T3i was just recently released, and from what I could tell, there weren’t significant differences between the models (at least not to justify the $100 – $200 difference in my opinion), so I decided to go with the T2i and look for a deal.  For those who are interested, the camera kit was cheaper at Target than it was on Amazon.  I rarely find that to be the case!  I was also able to pay for almost half of the camera in gift cards, which made this deal even sweeter.

I am loving the new camera.  I couldn’t wait to get it home and out of its case.  I’ve been (slowly) making my way through the user’s manual, and looking for guidance online.  My first picture with the camera was not very pretty.

Even Bailey looks confused.  I slowly figured it out, and my pictures became a little less blurry after I set the lens to “auto focus”…

I’m not sure what I did, but my pictures finally started to look a little better.  At this point, Bailey was tired of posing for pictures.  Or maybe she was tired of terrorizing our house (do you see how she pulls blankets and pillows off our couch?).  I’m learning pretty quickly that this camera is going to require a lot of practice as I explore various settings.

In other news, I’ve adopted a fish.  More like, I was gifted a fish… but either way, I am now the proud owner of a tiny red beta fish.

I’ve only owned fish once before – they were also a gift.  I gave them away after about two weeks.  I think this female is very pretty though.  I don’t think you can see in the photo, but she has a deep blue stripe across her.  Now that I’m officially attached, my fish needs a name.  Any suggestions?  I could also use any tips for taking care of beta fish.  I’m a “fish out of water” right now, hahaha.

Finally, I never announced, but I won a giveaway from Kimberly at Sunny State of Mind!  Kim is my soon-to-be cousin (in-law?)… she is marrying Pat’s cousin this summer and I can’t wait for their wedding!  Kim eats a gluten-free diet, and she was giving away gluten-free products from Namaste.

Although I don’t have any sensitivity to gluten (that I’ve noticed), I’m excited to try these products out.  I’ve never made my own pizza crust before!

My blog has been light on running posts lately, since I’ve been recovering from the half, but I’m planning on getting back into the swing of things this week.  This is my promise to you and myself – more running posts and hopefully more photos 🙂

Do you own a beta fish or DSLR?  I could use tips and/or advice for both!

10 responses to “Food, Fish & Photography

  1. I used to have two beta fish! Well, it was actually my sister’s, so I never took care of them. We had them at the same time, but in separate tanks- apparently they can kill each other if they’re together!

    The only tip I have- don’t leave them in shallow bowls when you’re cleaning their real bowls! My sister put one of them in a shallow dish once when she was cleaning his bowl and left the room, and he threw himself out and was laying on the counter for about a minute before she found him! So sad 😦 Poor guy!

  2. The camara sounds great! I’m sure you will have fun figuring it out. You really should get tips from Carol. That is her specialty, and as you well know, she does wonderful pictures. Vicki may also use that kind of camera if you want tips from her.

  3. I do own a DSLR and I love it! Just play around and have fun. Eventually you should try to graduate to the manual settings. 🙂
    As for the betta, just don’t put 2 together is what I hear!

  4. I love stories about your personal life too, combine them with your running. I love it both.

    We have fish in the pond in the garden but we didn’t name them. We had one goldfish that got stuck and had a white mark on it’s body. We used to call that Nemo but Nemo is dead and the other fish don’t have names.

  5. I am on the hunt for a dslr. I love my point and shoot but when I see pics taken with dslr cameras i becme insanely jealous!!

  6. I have a MUCH older Canon DSLR and love it, although recently I’ve been having some issues with unwanted vignetting. I plan to take a photography workshop or two after I purchase my next lens. It’s on my list of 30 things to do while 30!

  7. Bonita! It means pretty in Spanish – I do not know why, but I always choose Hispanic names or French names for fish…Random fact about me 😛 Well, except the one we named Fluffy.

    I am glad you got your gift! Go Namaste! I guess I was a little premature reading your blog for a while that is why I sent you the e-mail, just to be sure. That and I have been slacking on the reading of other blogs and the writing of my own for that matter. Sometimes I feel like I just keep writing the same things over and over so I take a break and collect my thoughts.

    Gluten-free textures and flavors take some time to get used to that’s for sure. It is fun to try new stuff anyhow 🙂

Leave a Reply

