Photo Finish and Recovery

I’m still feeling excited about last weekend’s race!  I’ve been searching for more races online.  I have awhile to decide, but I do have my eye on the San Antonio Rock n’ Roll Half Marathon in November.  It’s so far away though 😦

There is a 4 mile race this weekend I am considering, but I feel a little uneasy about it.  It sounds like a lot of fun (and the t-shirt is awesome), but I’m worried that I haven’t fully recovered, and I don’t want to injure myself.  I have until Friday to decide, so I’ll see how I feel in a couple of days.

I probably haven’t done as much as I could have during recovery.  Most of Sunday was spent on the couch and I was incredibly sore on Monday.  I was hobbling around all day at work.  It was mostly my calves that felt so stiff.  Tuesday was a little better and today was much better.  Maggie and I took Bailey for a 2 mile walk tonight, to ease back into some activity.  The walk wasn’t bad, but I actually feel a little sore from it now.  I hope this passes quickly!

The official race pictures were posted online today.  While I liked some of the pictures, I couldn’t bring myself to pay the asking price – $25 for one jpeg or $75 for all downloads.  Seriously?!  I need to get into the sports photography business – I could sell mine for just $5-10 and pay for the camera in no time.  Although I’m not going to buy any of these photos, I did snag a few of the proofs to share.

I really look like I’m struggling here.

I love the series of us crossing the finish line.

How much would you pay for race photos?  It’s a good thing Pat was there to take a few “free” finish line pictures 🙂

15 responses to “Photo Finish and Recovery

  1. I’ve never bought race pictures before because mine always turn out horribly! I just saw pictures from my race last week and oh my god… they are so bad! Haha!

  2. Girl! Those things are expensive!! I just figured out how to copy them to my computer and that’s good enough for me!!

    Check out http://www.bluebellfunrun.com. I’ve heard there’s unlimited Blue Bell ice cream afterwards! I would do it but it’s the weekend of my half. A girl I work with is doing it and has before and says it’s a really fun one!

  3. Holy crap, they really ask ridicilous prices for things in the USA.

    If you want to buy a race photo here it’s about 7 dollars a photo which in my opinion is still too expensive. I only buy it if I look good on it 🙂

    It’s the same for race prices, here you can run a half marathon for about 20 dollars where it’s so much more expensive in the USA. We don’t have big expo’s or big goodie bags (we do get a medal usually) but I don’t care. I prefer to pay less so I can run more races.

    I should try that 4 mile race if I were you. I think you can do it and I think the distance is going to be no problem for you.

    • I’m jealous that your races and pictures are so much cheaper! I would probably race even more if they were cheaper here.

      I’m not sure the 4 mile race will happen. I’m not worried about the distance, but I don’t want to injure myself by pushing too hard before I’m completely recovered from the half. Also, after 3 months of training, it might be nice to sleep in for one Saturday 🙂

  4. Forgot: I’ve decided I want to do 2 half marathons a year so my next one will be in October. In between I will do some shorter race distances if I want to.

  5. I have never bought any race pictures…mine always turn out HORRIBLE! lol! I love the finish line pics, those are great! 🙂

  6. I really wanted to buy a few of my race pictures because I LOVE them. But dang, they are just too expensive.

  7. it was your first race! you should buy it and frame it as motivation. (easy to say if i don’t know the price though, right?)

    the san antonio race sounds like fun! will they have bands playing and stuff while you run by if it’s rock and roll?!

    • If it weren’t $75, I would buy them all 🙂 The San Antonio race sounds like a lot of fun – they advertise that there are bands at each mile while you run by – I think that would be awesome! It also looks like the course goes by some San Antonio attractions like the Alamo. I think it would be a great way to see the city!

  8. I am doing the memorial park run. I picked up my packet today. The shirt is cute and they give you a wrist band for the after party – it must be good.

  9. Congrats on completing your first half!! These are actually great photos-esp the finish line series like you said! I have only run 2 races and cannot get myself to buy race photos–usually too pricey.

    You do not look like you were struggling–it’s a very flattering pic! 🙂

  10. Oooh I was telling a friend about the San Antonio Half Marathon… we’re still new to running so it’s quite the dream, we’re about to run our first 5k in a few weeks.

    Oh and I wanted to say hi.. just found your blog linked from someone else’s, it’s nice to read a blog by someone who lives where I live, and your race recaps are so fun to read!

    Oh and I love the pictures.. can’t believe how pricey they are tho!

  11. Pingback: Back on Track | Racing to Thirty

Leave a Reply

