The Night Before

I am so anxious for the race tomorrow morning!  I’m excited and nervous and wish I didn’t have to go to sleep before we start, because I’m not sure I’ll be able to get to sleep.

I’ve been excited all day – it’s hard to think about anything other than the race!  We went to the outlet malls this morning, and that was a good distraction.  It was the first time in awhile that I had a lot of success there.  Loft makes my favorite petite jeans, and they were all on sale for $20 so I bought 3 pairs, of course 🙂  I also found a dress at Banana Republic.  I had tried it on last time I was there, but decided I wasn’t ready to pay the $80 price tag for it.  Good thing I waited – today it was on sale for $40!

After the outlets, Maggie and I made t-shirts for the race.  We bought tank tops at Target and iron-on letters and numbers at Hobby Lobby.  I love how they came out!

I’ve been doing every thing I can think of to prepare myself for the race.  I tried to fix my shoes after Bailey’s attack.  I think they are still wearable.  I had a hard time re-lacing them because Bailey ate the ends of the shoe strings and they are frayed.  I’m a little concerned about the insole on my left foot.  I put it back in, but it doesn’t feel the same as my right foot does – it feels like it has a little extra cushion now.  Which wouldn’t be a bad thing, but I hope my stride isn’t uneven because of it.

I’ve been drinking as much gatorade and water as I can stomach.  I have a hard time drinking enough water, but I know I don’t want to feel dehydrated tomorrow.  I put my race materials together and I charged my Garmin until it said the battery charge was complete.  I’ve set my clothes out for tomorrow.  Is there anything I’m forgetting to do??

I made sure to get 8 hours of sleep last night.  I’m going to do my best to get at least 7 hours tonight.  The race starts at 6:45 AM, and we’re supposed to be there by 6:00 AM.  Given that the race is half an hour away, I’ll have to pick up Maggie by 5:30 AM.  Which means I am waking up at 4:45 AM.  Ick.

In 12 hours I will be 1 hour into the race 🙂  Wish me luck!

10 responses to “The Night Before

  1. I hope you have a great race! It’s going to be hot, so don’t forget to hydrate during the race.

  2. Good luck Jessica!!!!! 🙂 Have a great time…can’t wait to hear all about it!!! 🙂

  3. The shirt looks cute! Good luck tomorrow–you are going to do great! Can’t wait to hear all about it!

    (Oh, and LOFT and Banana Republic are two of my absolute favorite stores too 🙂 )

  4. Great outlet bargains! Good luck in the race! Let us know how you do.

  5. Good luck Jess!!! You will do great. Just relax and have fun. You’ve trained and are ready…enjoy it! I love the tank!!

  6. GOOOOD LUCK GIRLIE!!!!! I know you’re going to do awesome!!!!! I can’t wait to read all about it!!!!! Get some sleep, HAVE SOME FUN, and relax!

    Did you go to the outlets on 290? They’re all such good stores!

  7. Good luck tomorrow! Don’t be nervous- you are well trained and prepared! You will do awesome, I guarantee it. I can’t wait to hear about it! 🙂

  8. GOOD LUCK, CHICA!!! I know you’re out there on the course kickin’ some major butt!! Can’t wait to hear all about it!! 😀

  9. Good luck! Maybe you’re already finished by now but if not: I’m thinking of you!

Leave a Reply

