Thirsty Tuesday

The best way to describe my tempo run last night was “thirsty”… I clearly didn’t drink enough water during the day and all I could think about during the entire run was waterThe plan was to do a 4 mile tempo run with 2 miles at or below 9:00.

We ran a warm-up mile and then did our first “fast” mile in 8:38.  The speed felt good and I didn’t feel too tired, but I thought I was going to pass out from the thirst.  It was hot out and even though it was a short run, I was wishing I had carried a water bottle.  After finishing the first mile, I asked if we could pause our watches to find a water fountain.

We walked close to half a mile before finding water and it was so refreshing.  After our short break, we decided to go for the second fast mile.  We finished the second one in 8:29!  I was so happy with our speeds, but I know it doesn’t really count as a record because of our walk break :-p

We finished the third mile near another water fountain and decided to take another water break before continuing.  I was so dehydrated at this point.  When we started running our cool-down mile, we decided to stop at 3.5 miles.  We had finished our 2 “fast” miles and given the heat, it felt like a good workout.  But I am just a little disappointed with myself – I think that’s 3 runs in a row that I have cut short.  Our splits:

  • Mile 1:  10:12
  • Mile 2:  8:38
  • Mile 3:  8:29
  • Mile 3.5:  9:44 pace
  • Total:  32:10  (9:12 average pace)

Only two more runs before the big race!  I’m getting excited!!

3 responses to “Thirsty Tuesday

  1. Being thirsty during a run is very annoying, had that too sometimes. Even had it during a race one time. I didn’t drink enough the day before and on the day itself it was too hot for the time of year. I struggled the entire race, it was a 10K and I finished almost last.

    I’m excited for you too, can’t wait to hear how it went.

  2. I can’t wait to hear about how your race goes!!

  3. I too look forward to reading your race report. Good luck. Keep hydrated! 🙂

Leave a Reply

