Taking it Easy

Tonight was supposed to be an easy run.  It was a beautiful day, and it was the first time for several weeks that I was running solo.  I also realized that it was the first time in an entire month that I did an easy run – as opposed to a tempo run, speedwork or long run.  It appears that I’ve been skipping my “fourth” run each week.

I was planning to run 3 miles, but I started experiencing a slight pain in my left foot and I decided not to push it.  I have 5 miles of speedwork planned for tomorrow!  So I stopped at 2.5 miles.  I don’t feel too bad about it though.  It was just nice to be outside and zone out to some music.  My splits:

  • Mile 1:  9:07
  • Mile 2:  8:57
  • Mile 2.0 – 2.5:  9:11 pace
  • Total:  22:38 (9:04 average pace)

Short and sweet!  I walked for the last half mile, listening to my music and people watching.  The park is great for people watching.  And dog watching 🙂  After dinner tonight I followed it up with a few strength training exercises while watching TV.  I’ve been reading everyone else’s strength training goals and it just might motivate me to start doing my weights again!

I’m a little concerned since I noticed that it’s been a full month since I did an “easy” run, but I’ve read that speedwork and long runs are the most important for training.  What do you think?  Will I regret not getting the easy runs in when it comes to the half marathon?  I probably should have taken this one a little slower but I kept finding myself running to the music 🙂

It looks like people all over the country have been treated to warmer weather.  How have you been enjoying the nice weather?

7 responses to “Taking it Easy

  1. Good job on the run… I am concentrating more on making my easy runs, easy runs. Best not to push the pains, good decision!

    cheers

  2. I definitely think recovery is important and easy runs play their part the longer I’ve been running (not that long). That said, listening to my body and sticking to a regiment for my first half, I can’t say easy run was in my vocabulary and I survived. More than anything, just know yourself as a runner and enjoy what your doing is my opinion.

  3. I love the warmer weather!! It doesn’t last long in Houston though.

    I don’t know of many cool things to do for St. Patrick’s Day. The boyfriend and I are planning on at least going to The Flying Saucer because (so he says) that you get a St. Patty’s day glass when you order the St. Patty’s day beer. I’m not a huge beer fan but he is and I’m not going to turn down a fun glass! We’re probably just going to grab dinner downtown somewhere!

  4. I think you have to do what’s best for you.

    My training plan has 1 long run and 1 tempo or speedwork run and two easy runs in a week and I love it this way. This morning I had an easy run of just 2 miles and it went great. I also had to run it slower but on my easy runs I don’t look at my pace but just run to what feels comfortable for me at that moment.

    I’m looking forward to starting strength too now I’ve made the decision to start again.

  5. Sometimes you just need to get out there and not be so serious about it. That’s one of the reasons I wanted to do the trail run. 🙂
    Great job on your easy run!

  6. Recovery runs are necessary!!! I am loving is Chicago weather… It is only 60 but feels so much warmer than that!

  7. I’m learning what’s best for training right now too. I’m training for my third half marathon, and I’ve been shifting around and flat out skipping a couple easy runs here and there. It seems like every week, something comes up, whether it be physical ailments, or life getting in the way, or even just my being lazy.

    I do find that getting in my week’s mileage allotment does make a difference in that it pushes me more than in weeks when I miss easy runs (but do all my ‘quality’ runs). I feel like the weeks I do all my miles make me stronger. Though I question if they are also putting me at more risk for injury because I am so exhausted by the end of those weeks.

    So I try to do as much of my easy runs as I can ideally. But if something comes up, it’s definitely okay to miss some, especially if it’s something physical that comes up. I’m finding it a bit of a balancing act!

Leave a Reply

