Beautiful 5 Mile Tempo Run

It stormed all day yesterday.  Pouring rain, thunder and lightning.  I watched the dark skies all day, thinking how disappointed I was.  After my tough 12 miler on Saturday, I was ready for a strong, confidence-boosting run.  And then, right around 4 PM, the skies cleared up and Maggie and I decided our run was still on.  By the time we got to the park the weather was absolutely beautiful!

We decided to go for a 5 mile tempo run, with a goal of 9:30 for our tempo miles.  One of our biggest problems on Saturday was that we started our run too fast.  It’s very tempting to take off at the beginning of a run (especially when it’s a race!) but we wanted to teach ourselves a bit of discipline.  And we wanted to make sure that we would end our run strong.

Our first two miles were right around our 9:30 pace and we were feeling pretty good (not to mention proud of ourselves).  So we gave ourselves permission to up the pace on our last mile and we booked it – and finished the third tempo mile at 8:55!  Beautiful 🙂  Our splits:

  • Mile 1:  10:15
  • Mile 2:  9:26
  • Mile 3:  9:30
  • Mile 4:  8:55
  • Mile 5:  10:11
  • Total:  48:18  (9:40 pace)

That 9:40 pace just so happens to be my eventual goal for a 10k – it would allow me to finish in an hour!

The last mile is always the wildcard.  After running “fast” for three miles we slowed down to about an 11 minute mile for the beginning of the fifth mile.  But after jogging for a little bit and cooling down, we’re always ready to increase our speed again toward the end of our run.  It is never quite the cooldown we plan it to be.  That’s okay though, we usually walk a bit after the run anyway!

Tempo runs are my favorite type of speedwork.  I feel like it’s a great boost to my confidence because I’m only running fast for a manageable distance, it feels good to go fast but not so fast that I want to puke, and then I get a cool down and still finish with a time I am proud of.

What is your favorite type of speedwork?

11 responses to “Beautiful 5 Mile Tempo Run

  1. Short 4-5 mile Tempo runs are my fave. I actually like speedwork! 🙂 I need to work on ASAP!

  2. Great job on that 8:55 mile in the middle! Tempo runs are so hard for me. I definitely prefer intervals, but I’m still gonna try out tempo runs again soon.

  3. Great job Jess!
    I only do tempo and hills as speedwork and I love them both. I need to start doing my tempo runs at race goal pace to boost confidence though.

  4. Woo hoo!!! Great job!! 🙂 I really struggle doing tempo runs but I know they are really great at teaching your body to hold a faster pace for a longer peiod of time. Keep up the great work girl!! 🙂

  5. Fantastic time Jess!
    I prefer the tempo runs at race speed over speedwork which still is hard for me.

  6. Great job Jessica!! You’re going to rock that half like nobody’s business!!

  7. Nice job on the tempo run! I love tempos, but I hardly ever do them.

    Actually, it was terrifying to run without my Garmin in a race. I was feeling so exhausted that I had no idea how fast or slow I was running. I think I could have pushed myself harder if I’d known, but maybe not.

    • I can understand that. I would probably try to speed up too much, not sure how fast I was going, but then tire more quickly. It’s great that you still finished in such a good time!

  8. great job on ur tempo run!

  9. Tempo are so challenging and you rocked yours!! That half has nouthin’ on you! My favorite speedwork is repeat 400’s!!

  10. I like hill repeats and tempo runs because I think they are most effective… I dislike intervals/ speed sessions…

Leave a Reply

