Speedy Mile Repeats and Buddha

I was up super early this morning, and I’m now exhausted, so this post will be quick!  My sister and her boyfriend had to leave at 5:45 AM.  I got up to see them off, and was at work by 6 AM.  I normally don’t wake up until at least 6:15, so this was extra early for me! 

We had such a fun weekend, I was really sad to see them go.  We went to the Houston Museum of Fine Arts yesterday.  After living in Houston for almost two years, this was my first trip to any of our museums.  I was actually very impressed.  One of my favorite pieces was a blue-sequined Buddha that was almost my height.  Beautiful!

(source)

We tried to get them to go to the rodeo (see how much fun it can be??), but no such luck.  Maybe next year 🙂

For our run tonight, Maggie and I planned to do two speedy miles with slow half miles before and after each mile, for a total of 3.5 miles.  Up until tonight, our fastest mile ever was 8:35.  Our goal for tonight was to complete the first mile in 8:40 and the second mile in 8:30, to beat our pervious PR.  I thought this would be a bit of a stretch, but we blew our goal out of the water!  Our splits:

  • Mile 1:  8:17
  • Mile 2:  8:11
  • Total:  3.5 miles in 35:20  (10:06 pace)

I felt so excited after our first mile.  I couldn’t believe we’d set a record by almost 20 seconds!  At that point, I would have been happy if our second mile was just under nine minutes.  But once we started running again, I felt really good.  I felt light and was enjoying the speed, and we just kept up our pace.  I did feel just a little nauseous, but I tried to push it out of my mind.  It’s so hard to believe that just a few months ago, I was struggling with running 10 minute miles – and tonight, we almost ran an 8 minute mile!  And we weren’t completely dying at the end of it 🙂

Just a few more days until we attempt 12 miles!

What tourist attractions do you have where you live that you have never visited?  I feel like we always tell ourselves there will be plenty of weekends to explore our “new” city, and as a result, we don’t always take full advantage of it.

5 responses to “Speedy Mile Repeats and Buddha

  1. I’ve lived in the same city all my life, so I think I’ve seen it all! I wish I could go to Disneyland more though- it’s only 20 minutes away.

    Great job on your PR! Your improvement is really inspiring 🙂

  2. I’ve lived in Chicago and the neighboring suburbs my entire life, but have never been to the top of the Sears Tower!

  3. Whoa!!! That is crazy fast…way to go!!! 🙂 And good luck with the 12 miles…I will be right there with you running my 12 as well and we will rock it!!! 😉 Oh, and to answer your question you asked on my blog…I have ran a half marathon before but this will be my very first 12 mile training run!! Yay for the long run!! 😉

  4. I’m going to rename you in: Speedy Gonzales! Girl you’re fast! Great job!

    We have several tourist things in my village, I’ve been living here for almost 18 years now and haven’t seen a single thing. We also haven’t seen much of the tourist attractions in our country while when we’re in Italy or somewhere else for vacation we do lots of those things.
    I think I was in my 30’s before I ever saw the “Nachtwacht” by Rembrandt, one of the most famous paintings ever.

  5. Oh and good luck on the 12!

    Wish me luck, I’m going for my first 10 miles tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

