Tempo Run in the Park

This weekend has been extra fun because we’ve had visitors!  My sister and her boyfriend are visiting from out of state.  We’ve been giving them the food tour of Houston and spent some time at the outlet malls.  I normally use visitors as an excuse to not run, but with the half marathon in less than 3 weeks, I feel like I really need to get my runs in this week.

My sister and her boyfriend offered to walk Bailey at the park while Maggie and I ran, so I had to take them up on that.  While Bailey got some exercise, we did a 4.5 mile tempo run.  The goal was to run the 2.5 tempo miles at a 9:15 pace.  The weather was great and I was feeling pretty good tonight.  Our splits:

  • Mile 1:  10:09
  • Mile 2:  9:02
  • Mile 3:  9:10
  • Mile 3.0 – 3.5:  8:40 pace
  • Mile 3.5 – 4.5:  10:16
  • Total:  42:57  (9:33 pace)

I felt really happy with our overall pace!  The best part of the evening is that Bailey is now exhausted.  She’s so much better behaved after a long walk 🙂

Do you have favorite food spots to take out-of-town guests?  So far we’ve taken them to our favorite Thai, Deli, Tex Mex and BBQ restaurants.  Houston is known for its food, so I haven’t done much cooking this weekend!

6 responses to “Tempo Run in the Park

  1. There’s a really good restaurant called Rutabegorz near me that I love to take people to! It’s vegetarian and meat eater friendly 🙂 Also, there’s a Mexican restaurant that’s an hour away but SO worth the drive!

  2. I love taking people to Houston restaurants!! Without sounding creepy/stalkerish, where did y’all go?? (Maybe I’ll find somewhere new!!)

    • Not creepy at all! I love talking Houston restaurants… we went to Nidda Thai, El Tiempo, Hickory Hollow, Romano’s, Jason’s Deli and Counter Burger. All are probably my favorites for each type of food 🙂

      • I love El Tiempo! I haven’t been to any of the others except Jason’s Deli and it’s okay but probably not my favorite deli.

  3. Good for you getting that run in even though you had guests.

    We never have guests over that sleep at our house. Our country is so small that a sleepover isn’t necessary. Usually when I have guests that stay for dinner I cook myself.

  4. Awesome run!!! 🙂 Enjoy the time with your sister!!

Leave a Reply

