Friday Night Fun (10 Miles)

Due to some fun weekend plans, a Saturday or Sunday morning run isn’t going to happen this weekend, so Maggie and I decided to do our scheduled 10-miler after work this evening.  I was looking forward to trying the distance again, but the idea of running 10 miles after a work week was a little scary.

I had nothing to worry about though.  We had an awesome run!  I think we should try running Friday nights more often.  The park wasn’t too crowded and it was the perfect de-stressor after a long week.  The weather was just about perfect – maybe a little hot and humid when we started, but perfect by the end.

I was also dreading this one a bit because we were going to do the long mileage on a loop that is less than three miles.  Given that it would be dark by the end of our run, we wanted to stick to a safe area with plenty of lights.  This meant 3 full loops and part of a 4th.  Yikes.

It was actually really good though!  It’s a flat course, which automatically made it better than our last 10 miler (when I didn’t meet my hour and forty-five minute finishing goal).  The weather was also much better.  As a result, we cut almost 4 minutes off our 10 mile PR!  Not only were we faster, but I felt much better during this run.

The first few miles seemed slow at first, but they actually went by pretty quickly.  I tried taking a Gu before my run for the first time tonight, and I think it actually helped.  I plan to do it again before our 12 mile run (dun dun dun) next weekend.  When we hit 5 miles, I still felt pretty good.

We took a short walk break while we took our Gu a little after 5 miles.  I didn’t feel like I really needed it, but I know you’re supposed to take it before you actually run out of energy, and I was glad I did.  Mile six was a little slower because of the Gu, but miles seven and eight were back on pace.

I didn’t really feel tired or too winded until the 9th mile.  We were so close to being done,  but I could tell I needed a walk break.  I was watching our pace slide to 11:00 and slower, but after a 1 minute walk break, we were back to the 9:30 – 10:00 range.  Walk breaks can be very powerful!

We took another short walk break during the last mile.  I wanted to push it to the end, and I knew that a short walk would give me the energy to give it my all at the end.  We finished strong.  Our splits:

  • Mile 1:  10:14
  • Mile 2:  10:04
  • Mile 3:  10:07
  • Mile 4:  10:01
  • Mile 5:  10:02
  • Mile 6:  10:29 (Gu)
  • Mile 7:  10:07
  • Mile 8:  10:15
  • Mile 9:  10:45
  • Mile 10:  10:19
  • Total:  1:42:26  (10:15 average pace)

I think we both felt really good at the end of this run.  Definitely tired, but not in the same way I felt after my last long run.  I really think that fueling with Gu before the run helped.  And I’m more of a night owl, so maybe running in the evening made a difference 🙂  Only two more long runs to go before the half marathon!

Do you run better in the morning or evening?

6 responses to “Friday Night Fun (10 Miles)

  1. I have two more long runs until mine too! 🙂 whoohoooooo

  2. You are fast girl, you ran faster than I did on my 9 miler this morning!

    I haven’t tried a gel before a run. I stop to take mine, might try to take a walking break next time and take it.

    I’m definitely a morning runner. All my runs after work have been horrible these past few weeks so I’m going to run all my runs in the morning next week, see how that goes.

    Have fun this weekend!

    • I like walking with the gel, because I know that will be what the race day conditions are like. I think it’s great that you are able to run well in the mornings – again, because most races are early in the morning! I’m worried that because I do all my runs in the evening, and I run better in the evening, I will be less prepared for an early morning race.

  3. Jessica! Thanks for your sweet comments! You are completely right about the long runs–its the mileage, not the speed. I do run better in the a.m. and I am probably a nicer person for it!!

    I love your blog!! Such a fabulous concept–30 races before 30!! I didn’t start racing till after 30, so you are way ahead of me.

    Excited for your half on 3/27–it looks like you have been preparing well for it!

  4. Awesome long run! What a PR! I don’t take walk breaks, but sometimes I run so slowly I think it would be faster to just walk for a bit and pick up my pace after. I may have to try that!

  5. 10miles!!!!!!!!!!!!wooooo hoooo! Great job! Pat said you ran your first 10k in Texas not too long ago – congrats! You are going to ROCK your HALF!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

