4.0 Mile Tempo Run + Thai Food

Tonight’s run was awesome.  I didn’t have high expectations for it, given that I am probably still recovering from the race on Saturday.  But the weather was perfect, I wasn’t sore and my knee didn’t hurt.  I felt a little tired, but I got over that quickly.

I did both “fast” miles at exactly the same pace:  8:45!  I started to feel a little nauseous a few times, and I noticed that it only seemed to hit me whenever our pace dropped below 8:30.  I tried to practice mind over matter and focus on my breathing… and it seemed to work.  More or less.  Nausea has been my downfall at the past two races and I’m determined to get past that.  Our splits:

  • Mile 1:  10:16
  • Mile 2:  8:45
  • Mile 3:  8:45
  • Mile 4:  9:48
  • Total:  37:34 (9:24 average)

After the run we rewarded ourselves with dinner at my favorite Thai restaurant.  I always order the same thing:  spring rolls with tofu and yellow curry with tofu.  It was delicious as always!  I also really like the Chang beer they serve there, but I didn’t have any tonight.

Any tips for fighting nausea while running?

8 responses to “4.0 Mile Tempo Run + Thai Food

  1. I don’t really get nauseous when I run unless I’m hungover, hungry or too full from a meal, thankfully. Did you eat before your run today? I hope you feel better- that’s a horrible feeling!

    • Thanks! I did snack this afternoon before my run – I had veggies with ranch dressing mid-afternoon and a fiber-one type bar about an hour before I ran. I always eat before I run, but maybe I need to be more careful about what I eat?

  2. I stopped eating prior to a run and make sure I have a belly of water…I have had random nausea before. Sometimes chewing minty gum helps-hope you’re feeling better.

  3. I get crazy nauseous if I have food in my tummy…I stick to just gels and water before runs, maybe some powerade/water mixture, but that’s about all I can handle!

    Hope your tummy is feeling better! Way to go on your super speedy miles tonight! 🙂

  4. I’ve never been nauseous during a run but I never eat too much before I go running. On my short runs early in the morning I eat nothing. If I run after work I eat some fruit approx 2 hours before I run. Before my long runs at the weekend I do have breakfast an hour before I go but not too much because I don’t like running on a full stomach.

  5. I’ve liked reading your tips. I rarely get nauseated when I run but it happened to me on Saturday at the VERY end (as in when I was running past Minute Maid to the finish).

    Do you keep running and try to tough it out or slow dow until the feeling passes?

    • I felt really sick at the end by Minute Maid park too! My response varies – I usually try to keep running, but I slowed down quite a bit at the 10k to avoid dry heaving (which happened at my last 5k). On the run last night I tried slowing down just a little bit, and that would at least get the feeling to pass.

Leave a Reply

