Race #3: Rodeo Run 10k

The Rodeo Run was so much fun!  I loved the atmosphere – 15,000 racers and tons of spectators cheering us on.  It was well organized and the party after was fun too.  I didn’t make my time goal of finishing in under an hour, but I came close and still felt pretty good about the results.  Maybe I’ll get it next time!

Although the race wasn’t until 9:35, we got into downtown by 8:00.  We parked literally right next to the finish line and took a shuttle to the start.  I liked that they had water set up at the start line – I drank three cups!  It was packed, but we started between the 9:00 and 10:00 pace markers.  I felt so excited waiting for the start of the race – the adrenaline got me through the first few miles easily.

When the horn went off, it took about 3 minutes to cross the start line.  From there it was hard to weave in and out of people, but we took off.  There were so many spectators lined up through the first mile, it was a lot of fun.  I loved reading the different signs people were holding, including one that said we needed to hurry up because there was a bull chasing us.

The first 3 miles went through downtown and flew by.  But around mile 3, we left downtown and went over a bridge – that included a nice, steep, long (to me!) hill.  I wasn’t prepared for the hill.  We continued to run up the hill and it felt so good to reach the top and head back downhill.  And then we saw the first runner going by in the other direction – and I realized we were going to be crossing that bridge again!

Around mile 4 they had sprinklers for us to run under.  It felt great, but it was around mile 4 that I began to lose steam.  I kept it up a little longer, but when we hit the hills again during miles 5 and 6, I had to take a few walking breaks.  I was disappointed, but I felt so over-heated and a little nauseous, I thought a little walking would help.

During the last mile I was just thinking about how little we had left to go.  According to my Garmin, I hit 6.2 miles at 1:00:09.  I missed the hour mark by just 9 seconds!  But I wasn’t even close to the finish line.  I tried to sprint but I felt the nausea coming on.  I knew I had already missed my goal so I tried not to push myself to the point of dry-heaving again.  I felt a little disappointment as I watched a ton of people pass me during the last 0.10 miles to the finish line, but at that point I was just concentrating on keeping my legs moving.

But I must have been running faster than I thought.  I forgot to change the auto lap on my Garmin after our last speedwork, and I was stuck getting beeps at every quarter mile during the race.  Thanks to that, I saw that I ran the last 0.10 miles at an 8:42 pace.  Not an all-out sprint, but not as bad as I thought!  My splits:

  • Mile 1:  9:19
  • Mile 2:  9:23
  • Mile 3:  9:43
  • Mile 4:  9:38
  • Mile 5:  10:12
  • Mile 6:  10:01
  • Mile 6.0 – 6.35:  3:13 (9:10 pace)
  • Total:  6.35 miles in 1:01:30  (9:41 pace)

My official race time was 1:01:33.  I made it through my first 10k!  After we ran I stopped by a table for a power-ade type drink.  I felt better shortly after that.  We walked around to all the booths to pick up samples of different products.  It was a lot of fun!

I can’t wait to do this race again next year!

9 responses to “Race #3: Rodeo Run 10k

  1. Congrats! What a great time you’ve set!

    Sounds like you both had a great and fun race.

  2. Great job!! It was crazy and SO fun!! I’m glad you thought so too!!

  3. Great job!!! That is an amazing time, too !! 🙂 Mile 4 of the 10k always gets me, too. Way to finish strong 🙂

  4. Thanks for commenting on my blog! I want to figure out how to follow you since you are on wordpress and I am on blogger!

    • Thanks! I’m not sure about the best way to do it, but I follow the blogs I read on Google Reader. You can also “subscribe” using the button on the right side of the page. Thanks for stopping by!

  5. Okay, cool! I just subscribed via email!

  6. That’s great-congrats on an amazing run!

  7. Great race report and awesome time! The rodeo run was pretty fun this year – I’m just glad the sun stayed away till the end!

Leave a Reply

