5 Miles of Speed

The title of my post is a little mis-leading.  It was really more like 3 miles of speed with very slow half miles before and after each one.  It was also more like 6 miles with all the walking Maggie and I did that was not captured by my Garmin.  But my Garmin is kind of like Facebook – if it’s not recorded, it’s not official.

The weather was beautiful today which made it difficult to be inside all day when I really wanted to be outside running!  It cooled down just enough for our run.  After the trouble my legs have been giving me this week, I was a little nervous about attempting speedwork, but so glad I did!  My legs aren’t feeling 100% but were probably about 80% better than they were earlier this week.

We jogged the first half mile, but then walked most of the half miles between the speedy full miles.  I couldn’t be happier with our speedy miles.  Not only did we finish each one in less than 9 minutes but we had our fastest mile ever:  8:35!!  Our splits:

  • Speedy Mile 1:  8:46
  • Speedy Mile 2:  8:49
  • Speedy Mile 3:  8:35
  • Total:  5 miles in 53:52 (10:47 average pace)

This run felt a little rough as we were doing it, but I felt amazing after.  I can’t wait for 10 miles this Saturday!  It’s been on my mind all week.  I’ve always heard that your first double digits run is a big deal.  One way I like to pump myself up for the 10 miles is to read recaps from other people who have run 10 miles.  Here are a few for you to enjoy:

  • Amy ran 10 miles for the first time just recently – and followed it up with 12 the very next week
  • Kelly and Megan recently ran 10 miles – and accidentally ran through the finish line of a 5k!
  • Jill recently ran an unplanned 10 miler
  • Kim did her 10 miles on a treadmill.  I’m very impressed!
  • Caitlin’s post on the first time she ran 10 miles
  • Janae ran 10 on her birthday – while watching the last 10 miles of the boston course.  This girl is so inspiring!
  • Tina ran 10 miles through Boston as part of her marathon training

Have you ever run in the double digits?  How did you prepare?  How did you reward yourself after the run??  If you have a recap, please leave your link! 🙂

10 responses to “5 Miles of Speed

  1. Great job on the mile repeats Jess! Can’t wait for you to run your first double digits. I still remember mine! Run happy!

  2. PS. 10 is where I bring a Gu or something for midway fuel. I also got a little tired after and needed a 30 minute nap. Remember to refuel soon after you finish. I like chocolate milk. Have fun!

    • Thanks for the advice! I will pick up som Gu tomorrow before my run. I have a feeling I’ll be ready to nap all afternoon once I finish, but I’m excited 🙂

  3. Great job on your run!! I haven’t run in the double digits… yet!

    Yes, I’m doing the Rodeo Run. I was supposed to do it last year but couldn’t because of a family emergency (I wasn’t too bummed… I hadn’t trained at all). GOOD LUCK!!

  4. I haven’t gotten to double digits, but I will in about 3 weeks! Can’t wait.

    Hey, silly question. how do you figure out each pace for every mile on your Garmin? I have a 305 and I don’t know how.

    • Not silly at all! It took me awhile to figure it out on my 305. On your main screen (press mode to get to the main menu), go to Training -> Training Options -> Auto Lap. I typically set the auto lap to one mile to see my mile splits, but it’s convenient because I can set it to half miles or quarter miles when I’m doing speedwork intervals.

  5. I haven’t run over 10 miles in a month and a half! I need to get myself pumped up to do it- thanks for the links 🙂

    Also, I just saw what you said about recording mile splits, so THANK YOU! I have had my Garmin for 6 months and I still don’t know how to do that!

  6. First off, GREAT run!!! Your last mile was your fastest…that is so awesome!! 🙂 I am so excited for you and your first double digit run…I definitely still remember the first time I ran 10 miles last Summer 🙂 You are going to do amazing!!!

  7. Great run Jessica!

    It depends weather you want to know the double digits in km’s or in miles 😆 Here in Europe (except England) we measure in km’s instead of miles.

    1 K = 1.6 miles.

    As I’ve run 12.8K as my longest run so far which is 8 miles I have had the double digit in km’s. I’m doing 9 miles tomorrow and next week too, than it’s recovery week and after that I wil run my first 10 miler.

    Good luck tomorrow!

  8. Good luck tomorrow! You will rock it out 🙂 Can’t wait to read the recap!

Leave a Reply

