Happy Valentine’s Day!

Pat and I are celebrating our 7th Valentine’s Day this year.  Time has flown by!  This year we celebrated on Saturday night.  We went to Backstreet Cafe, a restaurant I had been to once before.  They have steak (what Pat wanted) and a separate vegetarian menu (for me).  It seemed like the perfect choice for dinner this year.  Sadly, I forgot my camera at home.  I am a bad blogger.

Dinner was great.  We ordered a fried green tomato salad, which reminded us that we went to a restaurant called Fried Green Tomatoes on Valentine’s Day in 2009.  We also ordered grilled mozzarella as an appetizer.  It was not so great – it first came out with meat on it.  The server was nice and returned it, but then it came out cold.  For our main dishes Pat ordered the pork chop and I ordered Jalapeno Fettucine with tomatoes and black beans.  I was surprised that the noodles were actually green and really spicy.  I really liked it!  Like our appetizer though, it came out with meat on it.  I guess it was confusing to the kitchen because the vegetarian menu had items that were almost the same as the regular menu, just without the meat.  Our server offered us a free dessert for the inconvenience.  I didn’t make a big deal of having to wait, but I thought it was a nice gesture.  We enjoyed a delicious Lemon Parfait with Blueberries for dessert.

Since it’s Valentine’s Day, I thought I would share a trip down memory lane 🙂  Pat and I started dating in March 2004.  We met our freshman year through mutual friends in the dorms.  This was our first picture together.  If you’re wondering, that is an Ataris t-shirt I am wearing.

We’ve spent most Valentine’s Days eating out, with two exceptions.  I made dinner for Pat our senior year at college.  I knew he liked steak, so I called my dad for instructions on how to make london broil.  I also made cute little tomato and mozzarella sandwiches, which I cut into heart shapes.  Last year, Pat made dinner for me.  I had been out of town for the weekend and got home the evening of Valentine’s Day.  He made Caesar salad and fettucine alfredo, two of my favorite foods.

When I packed Pat’s lunch for today (yes, I sometimes make him peanut butter and jelly sandwiches to take to work), I cut them into hearts.  I hope he enjoys the surprise!

What are your Valentine’s Day plans this year?  Do you usually go out to eat or make dinner at home?  If you have a favorite Valentine’s recipe, please share!

10 responses to “Happy Valentine’s Day!

  1. I loved seeing your first picture! SO Cute! and i love your heart shaped pb and j. Im sure that put a smile on his face.

  2. Cute! We are cooking at home tonight and I couldn’t be more excited! This is our first one to share.

    Have a wonderful Valentine’s day!

  3. I love the PB&J hearts! I used to write sweet messages on a napkin when I packed my husband’s lunch. We’re not really into the whole chocolate, flowers, cards, and roses Valentine’s Day tradition. Instead, we celebrated yesterday by getting a baby sitter so we could spend the day at the gym together (awesome and very rare!), cooking dinner together, and cuddling on the couch watching a completely unromantic, gory action movie. I’d tell you more, but I don’t kiss and tell! 😉

    • I included a little note in Pat’s lunch today too 🙂 We skipped the chocolate and flowers this year too (but did exchnage cards). It sounds like a fun valentine’s day for you!!

  4. So cute!! 🙂 Sounds like a nice dinner out and you got to spend quality time together…you can’t beat that! 😉

  5. hehe, I love seeing old school pics — oldies, but goodies! And those PB&J sammies are too cute, Jessica!

  6. Ah how sweet to cut the sandwiches into hearts!

    I guess I’m the only one in blogland who doesn’t celebrate Valentine’s Day. For me it’s too commercial and has nothing to do anymore with the original idea of Valentine’s idea.

    But what I’ve read about it, it’s a bigger event in the US than here in Holland. People do celebrate it here but there are more who don’t.

    • I agree it’s a commercial holiday, but at the same time, it’s a chance to remind those that you love (significant others, family, friends) that you care about them, and I like that aspect of the holiday. Is it celebrated similarly in Holland? Do children give each other valentines at school?

  7. No, children don’t give valentines at school here. It is celebrated here but not as much as in the US. Most of the people I know do nothing on Valentine’s day. Some go out for dinner or buy their loved one a gift.

Leave a Reply

