Creamy Celery Soup

I love comfort food.  I love it even more when comfort food is healthy and easy to make.  This is a recipe I’ve been making frequently, just substituting whatever vegetables I have on hand.  It’s a great way to clean out the fridge when you have produce that needs to be used!

Ingredients:

  • 1 block of tofu
  • 1 tbsp EVOO
  • 1 small yellow onion, chopped
  • 3 stalks celery, chopped
  • 1/2 cup baby carrots, chopped
  • 1/2 red bell pepper, chopped
  • 4 stalks asparagus, chopped
  • 1 can (14.5 oz) veggie broth
  • 1 can cream of celery soup
  • garlic powder, onion powder, celery salt and pepper (to taste)

I start with cooking the tofu.  I press the water out as much as possible using a heavy canister, and then cut it and saute it in a little bit of EVOO.  I season the tofu with garlic powder, onion powder, celery salt (just a lil) and pepper.  The celery salt adds a strong flavor, but I think it’s the key ingredient in this recipe.

While the tofu is cooking I chop up the veggies.  You can substitute these veggies for anything you have on hand.  I always use celery, onion and carrots in this recipe, and then add in whatever else I have in the fridge.  This time I added asparagus and red bell pepper.

I then saute the veggies in the veggie broth.  I typically use the whole can and bring the skillet to a boil, then let it simmer until most of the veggie broth evaporates and the veggies are soft.  I also flavor the skillet with the garlic powder, onion powder, celery salt and pepper.

I add the cooked tofu once most of the veggie broth has boiled down.  It’s okay if there’s a little left because the tofu will soak it up.

Finally, add the cream of celery soup.  It makes a sloppy mess of Creamy Celery Soup.

Just don’t judge this recipe by that picture.  It’s not pretty, but it’s a delicious salty meal, filled with lots of veggies.

One response to “Creamy Celery Soup

  1. That actually looks good. I haven’t tried tofu before but think I might try it with this recipe!

Leave a Reply

