4.5 Mile Tempo Run or Back on Track

Thank you for all the supportive comments on my rough 8 mile run this weekend.  I really appreciate the encouragement 🙂

Tonight’s run was threatened by a potential knee injury, but I’m glad I made it out.  My right knee started hurting a little yesterday, and it was much worse today.  It hurt to walk and I felt it with every step I took.  I don’t think it’s my IT band; it’s on the outside of my leg, under my knee but off to the side.  I discovered what was making it much worse today when I changed out of my work clothes and into my running clothes:  my heels.  As soon as I swapped the heels for running shoes, my knee felt much better.  It still hurt during the run, but it wasn’t unbearable and it wasn’t enough to slow me down.  Looks like I’ll be wearing flats for awhile though.

My run tonight was just what I needed to feel back on track.  Despite a little knee pain, I felt fast and I didn’t feel overly tired.  Okay, I did feel tired, but nowhere as bad as I felt on Saturday.  My legs felt sore and out of shape during the first two miles.  I felt like I was mentally forcing them to move because they didn’t want to budge at all.  But then they loosened up and I began to enjoy the run.  Especially when Black Eyed Peas came on my iPod.  I know they don’t sound so great without the auto-tune last night, but I still enjoyed the show – and anyway, it’s good running music!

The plan for tonight was to do one warm-up mile, 2.5 miles @ 9:30 or better, and then a cool-down mile.  My splits:

  • Mile 1:  10:13
  • Mile 2:  9:08
  • Mile 3:  9:04
  • Mile 3.0 – 3.5:  8:41 average
  • Mile 3.5 – 4.5:  10:02
  • Total:  42:47 (9:31 average pace)

Last week’s 4 mile tempo run was done at a 9:32 average pace – so I shaved off one second and increased the distance by a half mile.  After the poor runs I’ve had over the past week, I’ll take it!

I’m getting really excited about my 5k this weekend.  My goal was going to be to run it at a 9:30 pace, but after tonight’s run, I’m thinking I might try for just a little faster.  I just hope my right knee hangs in there.

I have 9 miles scheduled for race day, so now I’m thinking I might run the 5k in the morning and do another 6 miles after the race.  What do you think?  Is this a good strategy for getting my long run in this weekend?  My other options are to do the 9 miles the day before the race, but I’m worried that will leave me too sore.  Or, I could run the 9 miles the day after the race, but that would leave me with no rest day after my long run, since I would start the next week of training on Monday.

What did you think of the Black Eyed Peas at the super bowl?  I was shocked by how awful the sound was – I can’t believe they didn’t have Fergie’s mic turned on when she started to sing!  I wasn’t always a fan, but as far as running music goes, they’re up there with Lady Gaga for me.

7 responses to “4.5 Mile Tempo Run or Back on Track

  1. So glad this was a better run for you…way to go!! 🙂 Good luck at your race!! I have one, too, a 5 miler. I would probably run the 6 miles after the race and just run them nice and easy. Have fun!! 🙂

  2. Haven’t seen BEP but I guess you’re not surprised on that 🙂
    I agree that they make great running music as does Lady Gaga, both are on my Ipod.

    I wear heels everyday but I wear the lower ones when I have to do a run after work. I’ve noticed that when they are too high it makes my run more difficult.

    Great job on the run!

  3. Good luck on your 5k this weekend! You’ve really been improving- you’re going to rock it 🙂

  4. I had foot problems and discovered that wearing heels made it worse. I’ve had to choose – looking good or running. I chose running.

    • I would choose running too! I’m very short, so I like to wear some heels, but I usually stick to low heels. However, I have a few nice pairs of flats I can wear when I have knee or leg pain. Running definitely comes above the heels.

Leave a Reply

