Theme Dinner: Eat Your Greens

It wasn’t too long ago when I didn’t eat anything green.  Seriously.  Through high school I hated most veggies and had never even tasted an avocado.  It wasn’t until college that I began even tolerating greens.  It all started with caesar salad, and then green bell pepper.

Since then I have (slowly) begun to eat a wide variety of greens – lettuce, spinach, bell pepper, peas, avocado, artichokes and more.  I’m still not a fan of broccoli or green beans, but I tolerate them.  But you can understand how I’m impressed with myself that I actually put together a dinner based on greens that I truly enjoy.  Dinner last night included Phyllo Wrapped Asparagus and Avocado-Parmesan Spaghetti.  And as a bonus, you get our green-themed breakfast this morning, Spinach Artichoke Eggs.

Both were delicious.  I started with the Asparagus – as you might remember, I am working my way through the alphabet of veggies.  This was a recipe I’ve made before, and Pat got really excited when he saw I brought home asparagus from the grocery store.  He asked, “are you going to make that one thing with the phyllo dough?”  Yes!  The main dish came from a recipe I saw last week on Oh She Glows.

Phyllo Wrapped Asparagus

I’ve made this once before.  It’s a Paula Deen recipe, so as you might expect, it is covered-in-butter-delicious.  I really don’t like asparagus, but I do like butter.

Ingredients:

  • 10 asparagus spears
  • 20-30 phyllo sheets (about 1/4 of a package)
  • 3 tbsp butter, melted
  • 1/2 cup Parmesan cheese

Start by preparing the asparagus spears.  I just cut about an inch off of the bottom of each spear.

Next, prepare the phyllo dough.  I took one package and cut it in half length-wise.

I used 2-3 sheets of phyllo for each asparagus wrap.  The phyllo was a little difficult to work with, and it fell apart very easily.  I thought that the thicker I kept the dough, the better it would hold the asparagus.  I then brushed the melted butter onto the phyllo.  Mmm, buttery goodness.

When I put the butter brush in the dishwasher, Bailey pulled it right out.  I guess she loves butter too!  I then covered the buttery phyllo in parmesan cheese.

I then wrapped the asparagus in the phyllo (2 spears per phyllo wrap) and covered them with more butter and parmesan cheese.

Into the oven for 15 minutes at 375 degrees.

Bailey thought these smelled good, she didn’t leave my side the whole time they were baking!

Avocado-Parmesan Spaghetti

As I mentioned earlier, this wonderful recipe is based on the Creamy Avocado Pasta by Angela at Oh She Glows.  I love anything with avocado, so I knew I was going to try this recipe as soon as I saw it – I just made a few additions.  This was a really fast dinner, which makes it even better in my book.

Ingredients:

  • 2 tbsp chopped garlic
  • juice from one small lemon
  • 2 tbsp EVOO
  • 1 tbsp basil
  • dash of celery salt
  • 1/2 cup parmesan cheese
  • 1 large avocado
  • 1/2 cup spinach
  • 4 artichoke hearts
  • whole wheat spaghetti
  • 2 Quorn chick’n breasts

I set the water to boil for the past, and then began to mix the garlic, lemon juice, EVOO, basil and celery salt in the Magic Bullet.  I then added the parmesan cheese, avocado, spinach and artichoke hearts to the blender.

I always cut the avocado to make it easier to scrape out.  I love, love, love avocados!  While making the sauce, I heated up some Quorn chick’n breasts in the microwave.  I then mixed the sauce and chick’n in the spaghetti.  This sauce was delicious!

Dinner was delicious, made even better with a glass of wine!

Spinach Artichoke Eggs

I carried the green-theme into breakfast this morning.  One of my favorite breakfast items at a restaurant is the Green Eggs at Baby Barnaby’s in Houston.

I started by looking for recipes online before deciding to make my own version.  This recipe at Joylicious is probably closer to the real thing, but I decided to give mine more of a spinach-artichoke dip feel.

Ingredients:

  • 4 eggs
  • 4 egg whites
  • 1/4 cup light soy milk
  • 2 tbsp butter
  • 1 cup spinach
  • 1/2 cup artichoke hearts, chopped
  • 1/2 cup reduced fat Mexican blend cheese
  • 1/4 cup reduced fat cream cheese
  • 1/4 cup fat-free sour cream
  • pepper & garlic powder to taste

I usually use just egg whites for me and whole eggs for Pat, but since we were splitting this batch, I used half and half.  I prepared the eggs, milk and pepper in one bowl and the rest of the ingredients in a separate bowl.  Scrambled eggs cook so quickly, I like to have all the veggies prepared before I start cooking the eggs.

I then melt the butter in the skillet.  My mother-in-law makes the best scrambled eggs.  I’m still not sure what all she puts in them to make them so amazing, but I’m pretty sure she starts with butter.  As I mentioned before, I love butter 🙂

I then scrambled the eggs and added some garlic powder.

Once the eggs were finished, I added the rest of the ingredients.  I cooked them on low heat until the cheese was melted and the spinach wilted.

Wonderful and creamy!  They could have used more spinach.  I also made way too many eggs for just the two of us, since these were very rich.

We had a big brunch of spinach artichoke eggs, morning star sausage patties, toast with jelly and strawberries.  I was stuffed!

What is your favorite “green” recipe?

5 responses to “Theme Dinner: Eat Your Greens

  1. OK, I knew you were doing better as a vegetarian, but this is a lot of green. Grandma K would have loved all of this!

  2. I absolutely love asparagus! I usually just roast mine tossed in some olive oil, salt, and pepper and then top it with some grated parmesan. I’ll definitely be trying your phyllo recipe!

  3. That looks delicious! I just made asparagus for the first time a few weeks ago and I think it’s my new favorite veggie!

  4. I went months without eating any green food when I was a teenager. I didn’t even taste spinach until two years ago!

  5. Those dishes look so fancy. Soooo fancy. I’m talking gourmet. Ever thought of quitting your job and working as a personal chef…for me? I mean, the pay might not be as good as what you’ve got now, but the company sure is 🙂

Leave a Reply

