Sloppy Joes

I first began cooking my junior year of college, after moving out of the dorms and into an apartment.  At the time I had just a few recipes that I would make over and over again, including this recipe for Sloppy Joes.

I love the version from Allrecipes.com, and after becoming a vegetarian, I’ve continued to make a meatless version of it.  It doesn’t take long (even less time if you don’t have to brown the meat!), and it’s great comfort food.

Ingredients:

  • 1 package soy ground crumbles
  • 1/2 yellow onion
  • 1/2 green bell pepper
  • 1/2 red bell pepper
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tbsp garlic
  • 3/4 cup ketchup
  • 1 tsp Dijon mustard
  • 3 tbsp brown sugar
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 tsp onion powder

I always start by chopping up the veggies.

Sauté the veggies in olive oil with the garlic.  I love the smell of onion and garlic cooking in the kitchen.

Next, add the soy ground crumbles and break them up.  Then add the ketchup and the rest of the ingredients.  Now it will smell really good in your kitchen!

Pat eats his Sloppy Joes on hamburger buns, and I eat mine on sandwich thins.

What do you put in your Sloppy Joes?

5 responses to “Sloppy Joes

  1. Ohh this looks awesome! And, seeing as I have all the ingredients, I think I know what I’m making for dinner tomorrow night!

  2. Sloppy joes… One of my childhood favs

    I love your blog – so cute 🙂 I started my blog about 2 months ago (it’s so addicting) – check it out: http://oatsandspice.wordpress.com

  3. Those sloppy joes look Soooo good! Do you cook different food or does he eat whatever you cook? Is there any food you miss now that you are
    a vegetarian or are you over the whole meat scene?

    • I don’t cook different food for Pat 🙂 Lol, he’s stuck with whatever I make! He usually eats what I cook at home, but when we go out to eat he’ll be sure to get his steak or hamburger. He’s gotten used to it for the most part, but every now and then he’ll grill some meat for himself if he’s craving something.

      I actually don’t miss meat at all now, which is hard to believe because I used to think a meal wasn’t a meal without meat. I miss some traditions (turkey at Thanksgiving, Cincinnati chili, my dad’s matzo ball soup), but I’ve found good substitutes for the actual food.

Leave a Reply

