Banana Bread

What are you supposed to do when you have rotting bananas lying around?

Make banana bread of course!  In grad school I had a roommate who would always make banana bread when we had rotting bananas.  It was bad for the waistline, but her bread was so, so good.  I’ve actually never made it myself before.

I searched some of my favorite sites and cookbooks for a recipe and couldn’t decide which to try.  Many were similar with just slight variations, so I made my own.

Ingredients:

  • 4 “ripe” bananas
  • 6 tbsp butter
  • 1 egg
  • 1.5 cups flour
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp ground cloves
  • 2 tbsp ground flaxseed
  • 1/2 cup shredded (unsweetened) coconut

Start by mixing the bananas, butter and egg in a bowl.  I put the butter in the microwave for just 10 seconds to soften it and then went to work at mashing the bananas.

I then mixed in the rest of the ingredients.  I even broke out the handheld mixer for this one.

Bake in the oven at 350 degrees for 45 minutes.

It was delicious!  It came out a little crumbly, but I think I cut into it too soon.  After I gave it more time to cool the bread seemed to thicken a bit.

It’s very moist.  I think the flaxseed adds a nice nutty flavor, and the unsweetened coconut is very subtle.  If you want a sweeter bread I would try sweetened coconut.  I will definitely make this one again.  In fact, I have 4 bananas sitting on the counter now, just waiting to ripen 🙂

4 responses to “Banana Bread

  1. YUMMY!! I love banana bread 🙂 I actually have some really ripe bananas that I need to use so I think a batch is in my very near future 😉

  2. I always leave my bananas out to ripen so I can make banana bread, but the smell makes my family sick so I have to freeze them. I need to finally let some ripen so I can make this!

  3. That looks delicious!

Leave a Reply

