5k (unofficial) PR

The training plan called for an easy three miles tonight.  But after Maggie and I came so close to running a 5k in under 30 minutes on Tuesday, we decided to see if we could meet that goal tonight.  So we settled on a goal of a steady but somewhat speedy 3.1 miles.

I wanted to take the first mile a little slower, and speed up as we went.  I always worry that if I use too much energy early on, I won’t have any left by the end and I’ll want to walk or jog too slowly to meet a goal.  I guess this is why negative splits seem to be encouraged, but it can be hard to keep it slow when I feel most of my energy at the beginning of the run.  We did great with this tonight though.

Our first mile felt good, but the second mile felt rough.  I wanted to slow down and have a nice easy jog, but tried to push through it.  By the time we got to the third mile, I was telling myself that one mile is easy – and it didn’t seem so hard to keep a fast pace.

Not only did we beat our goal of 30 minutes, but we beat it by 36 seconds!  Not bad at all considering the time for my first 5k back in December was 31:42.  Our splits:

  • Mile 1:  9:48
  • Mile 2:  9:32
  • Mile 3:  9:18
  • Mile 3.1:  8:10 pace
  • Total:  29:23 (9:29 average pace)

The excitement of our run today (and all your encouraging comments) was the push I needed to sign up for a real 5k on February 12, 2011:

2011 Texas Med 5k

I know I can set a real PR at this race – and hopefully do just as well as we did tonight!

What race(s) are you training for?

5 responses to “5k (unofficial) PR

  1. Whoa, awesome job! You are going to smash your goal time!

  2. Fantastic! Congrats on the PR!

    I’m training for my first half in April. No races planned before that.

  3. That is awesome!!! You are going to rock that race!! 🙂

  4. wow!! that is so good! you go gal!

  5. Congrats on the PR with a good negative split: an important speedwork before the Texas Med 5k.
    My next race is the half Roma-Ostia.

Leave a Reply

