Feeling Speedy

The title says it all:  I felt speedy tonight.  I did six quarter mile intervals tonight.  I had a lot of pent up “energy” from today, and I felt much better after running it out.  My splits (by pace):

  • Warm up:  (10:46)
  • 1/4 mile 1:  7:45
  • Recovery:  (10:59)
  • 1/4 mile 2:  7:26 !!
  • Recovery:  (11:09)
  • 1/4 mile 3:  8:14
  • Recovery:  (12:53) -> this is where I began walking
  • 1/4 mile 4:  7:41
  • Recovery:  (13:17)
  • 1/4 mile 5:  8:00
  • Recovery:  (14:22)
  • 1/4 mile 6:  7:38
  • Recovery:  (11:36)
  • Total:  3.25 miles, 32:58 (10:09 average pace)

I’m pretty happy with these speeds.  You’ll notice my recovery pace got slower and slower as I went – but walking seemed to allow me to speed up during the quarter miles.  Also, during my last recover, “Awful” by Hole came on my iPod and gave me the push I needed to jog the whole thing.

I was hoping to do at least a few of the quarter miles at around an 8:00 pace.  I had no idea that I was going that much faster!  I’ll be honest – I loved the feeling of weaving in and out of other runners.  There were a few runners who would pass me while I was jogging/walking, then I would speed by – then they would pass me again.  I wondered if they thought I was weird for doing that, but hopefully they weren’t paying too much attention.  If only I could hold those paces for more than a quarter of a mile 🙂 

I think speedwork is starting to grow on me.  I really have noticed improvements in my speed each week.  Being a fairly new runner, I have a feeling that the longer I run the slower the improvement will be.  But a big part of why I’ve been motivated to keep running is that it doesn’t take long to notice improvements.  Even if it’s just 2-3 seconds off a mile or average pace, it’s something.

Do you do speedwork?  If so, do you enjoy it?  What is your favorite speed workout?

7 responses to “Feeling Speedy

  1. Don’t you just love it when you get a song on your Ipod that gives you just the extra push you need at that moment?

    Well done on the speedwork!

    In my other schedule I did interval at the treadmill but didn’t really like it.
    In my current schedule I have speedwork included and it’s tough but fun. Basically it’s warming up, run 1 mile at high speed, recover for half a mile and do it again. My first session was two times 1 mile and it was tough. It was also the first time I did this outside and I loved it very much.

    • I think music can make a big difference mentally – I’ve noticed there are certain songs that really get me moving. I think intervals are a hundred times better when done outdoors – I’ve tried doing them on the treadmill and it just doesn’t work for me.

  2. I do love speedwork!! It is fun and it breaks up the monotony of the run a little 🙂 Nice work!!

  3. speedwork is pretty great!! i dont think i do legit speedwork, but intervals help me!

  4. I have never done speedwork–Im simply just trying to run for distance right now!

  5. I’ve been neglecting speedwork 😦 Can I have some of your motivation?

    • Haha – I’ll share! My motivation comes from the fact that I think the speedwork is really helping my endurance on the longer runs. That, and running fast feels really good, even if it’s just for a short time 🙂

Leave a Reply

