4 Mile Tempo

It was great to get back to my normal running routine today.  Maggie and I ran a 4 mile tempo run in pretty good time.  This run felt great.  I’m finding that the fourth mile is always my favorite.  That seems to be when my legs really wake up and I get a jolt of energy.  Part of me was itching to keep going tonight, but I didn’t want to overdo it.  I’m supposed to run the next two nights now, and I didn’t want to hurt myself or wear my legs out tonight. 

The goal for tonight was a warm-up mile at 10:30, 2 miles at 9:40, and a cool-down mile.  Of course, we ran our speedy miles in less than 9:40, but I pick that pace because it’s my 10k goal pace.  Our splits:

  • Mile 1:  10:35
  • Mile 2:  9:28
  • Mile 3:  9:06
  • Mile 4:  10:15
  • Total:  39:25 (9:52 average pace)

Our 5k was somewhere around 30:08.  Getting close to my goal of finishing one in under 30 min!  I’m actually thinking about registering for a 5k in February, but I haven’t decided for sure yet.  It would mess with my training schedule, but I’m sure I could work around it.  We’ll see!

11 responses to “4 Mile Tempo

  1. Another great run! I say go for the 5k – I’m still debating about one this weekend… the last one was fun, but my wallet is hurting… we’ll see if I make the responsible decision or the fun one! 😉

  2. You should do the 5k! I bet you will beat your goal 🙂

  3. Nice tempo run! It always takes me a couple miles to warm up, too, and get in the groove!

  4. Great performance again.

    I know what you mean about shorter races like 5Ks: because I train primarily for distance races, it’s difficult to fit in 5 and 10Ks on their own, as they don’t really function as speed work as such. But otherwise I’ll never improve my times for them. I’d say go for the race: it should be a good experience regardless and add to your ’30’ total.

    xxx

  5. awesome run!!! you are doing great!

  6. Way to go!! I’m running the Big D in Dallas in April. Which half are you doing?

    Are you talking about the Rodeo Run 5k in February? I’m doing that one but just using it as some training. I don’t know that I’ll be ready for April but I’m trying!! I’ll start following you 🙂

    • Thanks! I’m doing the Hippity Run Over Cancer in April – it’s in the Cypress area. I’m also doing the Rodeo Run 10k on February 26, and I’m looking forward to that!

      I’m sure you’ll be ready by April! Good luck with your training, I’ll follow your progress too 🙂

  7. That’s a fast 5K, congrats! I want to improve too on my 5K but save that for the end of this year. Till then I’ve got my racing plans all figured out and also the training schedules for it. I’m not doing any races till my half in April.

  8. Pingback: 5k (unofficial) PR | Racing to Thirty

  9. Pingback: Sticky 4 Mile Tempo | Racing to Thirty

Leave a Reply

