Baking on a Rainy Day

It was raining today.  Although I tried to tell myself to toughen up and make it out in the freezing rain, it didn’t happen.  The weather is supposed to be much better for the rest of the week, so I’ve decided to alter my schedule this week and do my 4 mile tempo run tomorrow night instead.  It will be okay.

Since I didn’t get a run in tonight, you get another recipe post instead. For dinner, I made one of my favorite comfort foods (and a favorite of the husband’s), Tofu Pot Pie.  Since I had more time this evening from not running, I also decided to do the logical thing and bake instead.  I made Cranberry Oatmeal Bars.

Let’s start with the tofu.  The Hungry Girl recipe for chicken pot pie was always my favorite.  Since becoming a vegetarian, I make the same recipe but swap tofu for the chicken.  It’s delicious!

Ingredients:

  • 1 block of tofu
  • garlic powder, onion powder & pepper to taste
  • 2 cans mixed vegetables
  • 1 can cream of celery soup
  • 1 roll Pillsbury Seamless Dough Sheets

Start with draining and pressing the tofu, and then cut it into small blocks.  To me, the smaller the blocks, the better, because that’s more surface area that will become crunchy.  I then saute the tofu with the garlic powder, onion powder and pepper until it is golden brown.

Next up, toss the mixed veggies and cream of celery soup in a bowl and add the tofu.  Then pour the mixture into a round baking dish.

I promise you, it tastes better than it looks.  Now bake the tofu in the oven for 20 minutes at 350 degrees.  Once it’s done, take it out and add the seamless dough sheets over the pot pie mixture.

Not exactly a work of art, but it will do.  It goes back into the oven for 8-10 minutes, depending on how crispy you like your dough.  I like mine at 8 minutes, which leaves it doughy and light.  Pat likes his at 10 minutes, browned and crispy.  Sometimes I take my serving out early and put it back in for him; other times (such as tonight) I bake it for 9 minutes for a compromise.

Just right!

Perfect comfort food for a rainy day.

Cranberry Oatmeal Bars

This recipe is directly from Cooking Light. Which leads me to a question for y’all:  Is it okay to re-post ingredients lists?  From what I’ve read, no one can own a list of ingredients, and therefore, it would be legal to post, as long as you write your own instructions.  But is it ethical?  I’m curious what your thoughts are on this topic!

When I “adapt” a recipe and change a thing or two, I feel comfortable posting details and writing my own instructions.  But when I don’t change a thing, it just doesn’t feel quite right.  Either way, until (or unless) I feel more comfortable with the legality and ethics of posting exact recipes, you’ll have to go to the original recipe for the exact ingredients, but I promise it’s worth the extra click!

You start by mixing the crust – flour, oats, brown sugar, salt, baking soda, cinnamon, butter and fresh orange juice.

The orange adds a nice, subtle citrus flavor to the crust, which is not something you would expect from the looks of theses bars.

I forgot how much I love oranges.  Actually, to be completely honest, i just love the juice from the oranges.  I don’t like the texture or the bitter taste from eating the fruit, but the juice alone is refreshing.

Next, pat the crust mixture into the bottom of a (PAM-sprayed) pan.

Next, mix up the filling: dried cranberries, fat-free sour cream, sugar, flour, vanilla extract, one egg white and orange rind.  I accidentally got a taste of the orange rind on its own – yuck!

And then sprinkle some of the remaining crust on top.

Into the oven for 40 minutes at 325 degrees, and out comes this tasty bar:

These are so good that when I volunteer to pack them up to share at work tomorrow, Pat actually asked for me to pack a few to stay at home as well.  I don’t bake often, but Cooking Light dessert recipes have never let me down!

What is your favorite recipe to bake?  Share links!  Also, what are your thoughts on re-posting recipes?

8 responses to “Baking on a Rainy Day

  1. Those look delish! I’ve reposted recipes, but I link back to the original source. I usually make a lot of changes, so that’s why I like to write it out.

  2. Yum yum yum! Keep ’em coming, Jess. Re-posted or not, I want to try more of your suggested recipes.

  3. Geez, Jessica! You keep busting out these amazing recipes! Definitely trying the tofu pot pie – I think I might have found dinner for this evening…

  4. What did Pat think of the pot pie!? 🙂 Because I love everything Kim Cooks 😉

  5. haha. Jason just asked me to check and see “what Pat had to say”. Those boys are so sweet! good, bad, burnt or raw 😀 they better love it all!! Wish you guys lived closer so we could do double dinner dates! guess we will have to come visit 😉

Leave a Reply

