8 Miles! And Visitors.

I ran 8 miles this morning.  I never imagined I would ever be able to run 8 miles.  Each time I add an extra mile to my run it seems to get just a little bit easier, but it’s still hard to believe that I’ll be up to 9 miles in another week. 

I kept a steady pace of 10:20 for most of the run.  My goal was to run it in an average of 10:30/mile, so I kept that in mind as I ran.  Each mile that I came in less than 10:30, I made a mental note, “Great!  Another 10 seconds you can add to your last mile if you need it.”

The first three miles flew by.  During the fourth mile I seemed to get a burst of energy.  I had to hold myself back from going too much faster, because I knew I would burn out if I gave in to much more speed.  I actually felt really good until the 5th mile.  Mile 5 was when I first noticed that I felt winded.  At 5.5 miles, my left sock began to feel uncomfortable.  I just knew I was going to end up with a blister.

As I began the 6th mile, I stopped to take a Vanilla Bean Gu packet.  This was my first time trying Gu, and I was not sure what to expect.  I decided that “goo” is a good name for the consistency.  It tasted alright going down, but left a nasty aftertaste.  I had to stop for water, and that didn’t get rid of the taste.  To be honest, I did not notice a difference in my run after taking the Gu.  Maybe I would have been more tired without it, or maybe I would have developed a cramp – I just didn’t feel much extra “energy” after taking it.  But it didn’t upset my stomach either, so there’s probably no harm for me to continue trying these packets on my long runs.

Mile 7 was rough.  I took 2 short (under 1 minute) walk breaks to get through it.  At this point, my sock was really bothering me.  I was hot in my sweatshirt, and I was just ready to be done.  I tried skipping around on my iPod, but I think my fingers were too sweaty, and I was stuck with some less than energizing songs – I made a mental note to remove those from my playlist.

Mile 8 was a blur.  I was so ready to be done running, and motivated to get out of my painful socks, I was able to push my speed a little at the end. 

My splits:

  • Mile 1:  10:21
  • Mile 2:  10:20
  • Mile 3:  10:20
  • Mile 4:  10:10
  • Mile 5:  10:19
  • Mile 6:  10:29 – Gu
  • Mile 7:  10:37 – 2 walk breaks
  • Mile 8:  10:14
  • Total:  1:22:53 (10:22 average pace)

I’m pretty happy I was able to keep this pace for 8 miles.  My goal pace for the half marathon is just 5 seconds faster per mile – maybe it’s actually a realistic goal?  Unfortunately, I do have a blister on my left foot now.  It’s a little painful to walk on.  I need to find better running socks!  Any suggestions?

The rest of my afternoon has been, and will continue to be, devoted to cleaning up and organizing around the house.  We have visitors coming!

8 responses to “8 Miles! And Visitors.

  1. Congrats on your 8 miles! Gus don’t work well for me either, and I get cramps while using them sometimes. Try shotblocks or other flavors to see what works for you.

  2. Way to go! 8 miles is on my schedule for next Sunday…right now, I can’t imagine adding another mile! But I know it will happen 🙂
    Good luck with your 9 miles next week, and hope your blister heals up quickly!

    • Thanks! I can’t imagine adding more either, but I try to keep myself pumped up for the long run during the week. I also tell other people how many miles I plan to run each weekend, hoping that will help me to follow through with it 🙂

  3. Pingback: 3.5 Tempo in New Shoes | Racing to Thirty

  4. Congrats on your PDR! Personally, I hated the taste of Vanilla Bean Gu, but I love Chocolate Outrage and Espresso Love. The espresso one gives me a definite “gotta start running NOW” buzz. I take them before most training runs over 6 miles and all races. I usually bring another to take after the 45-minute mark.

  5. Pingback: 6 Miles or Dip Week | Racing to Thirty

  6. Pingback: 8 Miles or Mistakes on a Long Run | Racing to Thirty

Leave a Reply

