I Love Running Because…

It’s amazing how quickly you see results.  Each week I can find some achievement in my runs, whether it’s a distance record, a speed at a particular distance (anywhere from a quarter mile to seven miles), or just how I feel after shorter runs as my endurance increases.  I have a feeling it could be because I’m so new to the sport (ever heard of beginner’s luck?), but I hope I continue to see these milestones.  They are very motivating!

Tonight’s milestone was a PR for a single mile run.  I did a 3.5 mile tempo run, and I ran my second mile in 9:11.  Not only that, but I managed to keep my pace under 10 minutes for another half mile after that.  My splits:

  • Mile 1:  10:34
  • Mile 2:  9:11
  • Mile 3:  10:11
  • Mile 3.5:  10:44 pace
  • Total:  35:16 (10:05 average pace)

There was lots of stretching and foam rolling when I got home!  What motivates you to keep running?

8 responses to “I Love Running Because…

  1. I love running for the exact same reason! When I first started, I was so excited when I increased my mileage. Now I want to work on speed!

    • I’m trying to increase mileage (for the half marathon) and work on speed (for the 10k) – I know you’re not supposed to do both at the same time, but when I start running, I find I get competitive with myself 🙂 Let me know if you find something that works for speed!

  2. wow great job! i just love running because it frees my mind!

  3. Hi Jessica! I just started running – only few months – and I just posted about this new adventure (http://wp.me/pXsUB-Bk).
    If you have any advice for me…. it would be great!
    Thanks!

    • Hi Elena! I’m fairly new to running myself (outside anyway), but I’m enjoying it! I’ll stop by your blog, but my best advice would be to just keep running. The more I get into a routine, the better I feel. Also, signing up for a race is great motivation!

  4. I am still trying to find my passion for running this post is great!!! Also… I just tagged you for a stylish blogger award over on my blog! =)

  5. NICE job, girl! I love how rewarding running is:)

Leave a Reply

