Negative Splits

I’m not very good at pacing myself when I run.  I have a tendency to start out fast and eager, and wear myself out too quickly.  I’m happy to report that today was not one of those days.  I ran 3 miles with a friend, and we achieved negative splits!

  • Mile 1:  10:51
  • Mile 2:  10:33
  • Mile 3:  10:11
  • Total:  31:35 (10:32 average pace)

It was actually kind of rough.  My left knee is still bothering me, and it got worse the last half mile.  I’m going to look into getting a foam roller this weekend.  I used one when I went through physical therapy a couple of years ago, and it really helped.

Before I ran tonight, I did Level 1 of 30 Day Shred.  I made it a quickie workout though – I didn’t want to do too much on my legs so I skipped through the 6 minutes of “cardio” (mostly jumping jacks, jump rope, butt kicks – all moves that are hard on my knees) and just focused on arms and abs.

I’m looking forward to a nice day of rest tomorrow!

Dinner

Tonight I made one of my favorite week night dinners – Italian Couscous with Black Beans.  It’s a favorite for a few reasons:

  1. I can make a huge batch and it keeps well for leftovers throughout the week.
  2. It’s super fast to make – couscous cooks in just 5-10 minutes, making it the perfect week night dinner.
  3. It can be made in just one pot if you want, decreasing the dishes you have to do!
  4. It’s delicious.

This recipe idea comes from Oh She Glows.  When I make it, I just add in whatever veggies I happen to have in the fridge.  Sometimes I toss them in the couscous raw (which saves on time and dishes) but tonight I sautéed my veggies.

  • garlic
  • onion
  • red bell pepper
  • yellow bell pepper
  • canned tomatoes
  • spinach

Then I started on the couscous.  To make, I typically use two cups water to every one cup of couscous.  You heat the couscous and water until boiling, and then remove it from the heat and cover the pot.  After it sits for about 5 minutes, your couscous will be ready to eat.

Then comes the fun part – you mix it all together!  At this point, I add to the mix:

  • 1 can black beans (rinsed)
  • tomato sauce
  • spices – basil, oregano, onion powder

Quick, easy and delicious.  Enjoy!

11 responses to “Negative Splits

  1. I’ve never had couscous before, but that looks really good! I’ll have to try that 🙂

  2. mm that couscous looks great! normally I am not a fan, but this one is looking good!

  3. Negative splits have happen to me a lot when I am running with someone. We are usually talking a lot the first few miles and then by the end just trying to finish!

    • I didn’t think about it, but that’s probably exactly what happened on our run! We were chatting and catching up in the beginning, and were definitely eager to finish at the end.

  4. Man! I haven’t had couscous in forever…now I am craving it! Hahah…I blame you if it shows up on my blog in the next week 🙂 Congrats on your negative splits. That is not an easy task!

  5. ohmygosh, that looks delicious, I’ll have to try it! It seems like a great “fridge cleaner” recipe.

    I have the same problem of going out too fast when I run. I have to really concentrate on running sllooooow. Nice run!

  6. Thanks! That’s very true – it is an excellent fridge cleaner recipe 🙂

  7. Mmm, I’ll have to make that this week! Thanks for posting the recipe 🙂

Leave a Reply

