Half Mile Intervals

Wednesdays are my speedwork day.  I was dreading tonight’s workout, but it actually felt good.  I can’t run fast for long, but I love the rush I get from flying through parts of the trail.

I planned to do 3.5 miles, alternating 0.5 miles of jogging with 0.5 miles of speed (at a 9:10 pace or better).  I gradually got slower each mile, but I was able to keep my pace up for the last half mile of speed, and it was a pain in my left knee that held me back more than anything.  I stopped after 3.1 miles because of the pain.  I had done my speedwork (and a 5k!) and decided to walk for a cool down, rather than push my knee any further.  My splits:

  • Mile 1:  9:30
  • Mile 2:  9:55
  • Mile 3:  10:16
  • Total:  3.1 miles in 30:47 (9:56 average pace)

For the first mile, I jogged half in 5:14 and ran the rest in 4:16.  My second mile was about 5:30 and 4:25.  For the third mile, I walked about a minute of it, and the split was about 6:05 and 4:11.

I think one of my favorite things about running (with the Garmin) is analyzing the numbers after my run!

2 responses to “Half Mile Intervals

  1. Awesome speed workout! I love my Garmin 🙂

  2. nice workout! great stats!

Leave a Reply

