Best Salad Ever

I received Mark Bittman’s How to Cook Everything Vegetarian as a Christmas gift from my sister.  I’ve had fun flipping through the recipes, and I’m slightly overwhelmed by all the options in this cookbook.  He might give you a simple recipe, but then offers 20 different variations for making it to your tastes.

One taste combination he suggested for a salad was apples, cheddar cheese and hazelnut.  I love all of the above, so this was my first salad attempt from the cookbook.  And the husband declared it one of the best salads he has ever had.

In the bowl:

  • spinach
  • 1/2 honeycrisp apple
  • cheddar cheese
  • chopped hazelnuts
  • 2 tbsp light balsamic vinaigrette dressing
  • 1/2 tsp calorie-free hazelnut syrup

I coated the apples in lime juice so they would stay fresh until dinner was ready.  I also mixed the balsamic vinaigrette and hazelnut syrup separately for myself and Pat; I knew I’d like mine with just a little more syrup than he would.  The hazelnut syrup made the dressing perfectly sweet, and the apple/cheddar/hazelnut trio was delicious.

3 responses to “Best Salad Ever

  1. I love Mark Bittman! I’ve never read that cookbook (although I want to!) but I read ‘Food Matters’ last year and LOVED it. He has a lot of recipes in the back- his granola is awesome 🙂 Your meal looks delicious!

  2. yum that does sound like a great salad! i love the hazelnuts!

Leave a Reply

