A Long Run and Some Speedwork

I did the first long run of my training plan yesterday – an “easy” six miles.  I say easy because it’s the shortest of all the long runs I will be doing.  Yikes.

I ran the first three miles and some change with a friend.  It always goes much quicker when I have someone to chat with!  The second three miles were on my own, without an iPod.  It was surprisingly not so bad, but I definitely do better with some kind of distraction while running.  My splits:

  • Mile 1:  11:07
  • Mile 2:  11:25
  • Mile 3:  11:44
  • Mile 4:  10:38
  • Mile 5:  11:08
  • Mile 6:  10:54
  • Total:  1:06:56 (11:09 average pace)

Not bad, but not where I was before my “break” – and the last mile was really rough.  Normally I would speed it up toward the end, but I just didn’t have it in me.  I’m definitely going to need to find a way to carry water with me on long runs.  I took one short water break, and it wasn’t enough.

Today’s run was much better!  It was a 3 mile tempo run with the same running buddy.  We ran the first mile at a good speed, a fast second mile, and a cool-down for the third mile.  It felt amazing – especially the speedy mile!  We had planned to run at a 10:00 pace, but it felt good to pick it up a bit, and I knew it was just for one mile.  Our splits:

  • Mile 1:  10:24
  • Mile 2:  9:32
  • Mile 3:  11:52
  • Total:  31:48 (10:37 average pace)

How do you stay hydrated on your runs?

One response to “A Long Run and Some Speedwork

  1. Pingback: 6 Miles or Dip Week | Racing to Thirty

Leave a Reply

