Running Partners

I haven’t been feeling 100% this week (3 migraines in one week will do that), but I really wanted to keep up with my training.  I think running should help to stop the migraines, and I would probably feel worse if I just sat on the couch all day.

Since I didn’t get my run in yesterday, I planned to do 3 easy miles today.  I wanted to keep it at an easy pace, but my goal was to complete the run in 30 minutes.  My splits:

  • Mile 1:  9:55
  • Mile 2:  9:52
  • Mile 3:  10:05
  • Total:  29:54 (9:58 average pace)

As I started my last mile, an older man caught up and started chatting with me.  We had passed each other a few times on the run, and he asked if I was training for anything.  We talked for about 0.25 miles before he peeled off, but it was nice to have some company.  It took my mind off the fact that I still had a mile to go!

Sometimes I like running by myself, alone with my music.  Running alone gives me a chance to focus on my speed, and go faster or slower as it feels natural.  But there are many times where it is so nice to have someone to run with.  Even though it was a short run today, I definitely could  have used a running buddy to make the time go by faster!

Do you prefer to run by yourself or with a partner?

2 responses to “Running Partners

  1. i def prefer running by myself- i can get in my own element and jam to my music!

  2. I always run better if I have my ipod with me! But if I’m with someone it helps me to keep going!

Leave a Reply

