A Spoonful of Sugar…

Today was day two of training, and 2.25 miles of speedwork was on the schedule.  My plan was to alternate 0.25 miles of slow jogging/recovery with 0.25 miles ran at a 9:00 pace.  This didn’t sound so bad, until I realized I was going to be running indoors on the treadmill.  We had 100% chance of rain with isolated thunderstorms.

I walked to warm up, jogged the first bit, and then ran my first 0.25 miles at a 6.6 mph (9:05) pace.  And then I had to stop and get off the treadmill.  I felt like I was barely going to make it just that quarter of a mile.

And then I got back on, jogged a bit, ran the second 0.25 miles, and got off the treadmill again.  I started to wonder why I even care about speed, and considered trading in my speed work runs for another easy run each week.  But I knew it was only 4 intervals, and I was determined to get through it.

I feel like speed work is like the medicine I took when I was a kid.  You know it’s good for you, but it tastes so bad, you can only take it in small doses, so I would slowly sip my medicine until it was all gone.  Am I the only one who did this??

Well I took my speedwork in small doses today, and got off the treadmill to cool down a bit after each sprint, but I finished all 4 quarter miles at a 9:05 pace.  I did 2.5 miles total in 33 minutes, but for all the breaks I took, it was probably closer to a 45 minute work out.

My legs felt a bit wobbly by the time I finished, and I felt like I had nothing more to give.  I wasn’t even running that much faster than I can run a mile outside, but it’s amazing what 15-30 seconds faster can feel like.  That, or maybe my treadmill is just way off 🙂

What is your “spoonful of sugar” that helps you to get through speedwork exercises?

2 responses to “A Spoonful of Sugar…

  1. Pingback: I Love Running Because… | Racing to Thirty

  2. Pingback: It’s Freezing in Texas! | Racing to Thirty

Leave a Reply

