Training Day One

My half marathon training officially started today.  Day one was supposed to be an easy 3 mile tempo run.  It was anything but easy.

I woke up with a migraine this morning.  When I get migraines, it’s not pretty.  I tried to sleep it off for a few hours, but I had to work today.  I felt mostly better, but the headache never completely went away.

I was also a little scared of this run because I had not run for over ten days.  I’m not sure how long it takes to lose your fitness level, but given that I’d only been running for about 2 months, it felt like a long time, and I was worried I wouldn’t be able to run 3 miles straight anymore.

And it was cold and windy.  The first mile it felt like I was running directly into the wind, and it was trying to push me back.

Okay, all complaining out of the way, I’m happy with today’s run.  My goal was to run 1 mile as a warm up, 1 mile at half marathon goal pace (10:17) and 1 mile as a cool down.  Sounds easy enough right?  Well I pushed a little too hard on mile 2, and wore myself out halfway through the “speedy” mile.  But I ran the entire time and was happy with my overall time.

My splits:

  • Mile 1:  10:22
  • Mile 2:  9:35
  • Mile 3:  10:27
  • Total:  30:26 (10:08 average pace)
One response to “Training Day One

Leave a Reply

