Merry Christmas!

Santa’s been good to me this year! 

After a nice brunch of egg whites, hash browns, grapes and toast, we opened some gifts. 

Elsie (my parent-in-laws’ dog) wore her best sweater for the occasion:

I received some awesome gifts that will help motivate me as I train for the half marathon.  My husband got me an arm band for my iPod.  I’ve just been carrying my iPod, so this will be very helpful.  It will keep me from skipping songs or accidentally turning the volume all the way up or down while I run!

I also got some great new running clothes from my in-laws.  My mother-in-law actually took me shopping just before the holidays so I could try the clothes on, but it was still a nice surprise 🙂

A Reebok sweatshirt – even in Houston, it’s starting to get cold!

A good, supportive sports bra – something I’m lacking, and it’s even reversible.

And running pants.  They have a pocket in the back, which is great since I sometimes find myself carrying my car key when I’m running!  While also carrying the iPod.

I also got the Omnivore’s Dilemma by Michael Pollan.  I just recently finished In Defense of Food, so I’m looking forward to reading this one!

Christmas dinner was delicious.  While the rest of the family enjoyed prime rib, I enjoyed my vegetarian turkey roll.  This stuff is seriously good.  I actually love everything I’ve tried from the Quorn brand.  And only 90 calories for 1/5 of the roll!

It goes into the oven for 45 minutes, still in the wrapper.

And comes out looking and tasting like turkey!

Sides included bread…

green bean casserole…

and cheesy hash browns.

The hash browns are my favorite!  Which doesn’t make much sense because I don’t like potatoes.  But I guess if you put enough cheese on just about anything, I’ll eat it.

Dessert was a french silk pie from Village Inn.  We at there earlier this week, and they were giving away free pie.  It made the perfect Christmas treat!

A special thanks to my brother-in-law, Tim, for letting me use his camera and pictures today.  I’m now convinced I need a DSLR.  Is it too late to ask Santa for a DSLR?

2 responses to “Merry Christmas!

  1. What a wonderful Christmas! We missed you this year, but skyping helped. It sounds like it was a running focused Christmas for gifts.

    What is the difference between what you have and a DSLR?

    • We missed you too! My camera is just a point and shoot… a DSLR takes much better pictures, and more clear close ups than my camera. I didn’t really notice the difference until I was comparing pictures taken on my camera to pictures taken on Tim’s camera.

Leave a Reply

